RSS

Stacks of Photos

24 Aug

AndrewFishwu

Today was one of those days that I awoke early, fed and played with my baby, and saw my husband off to work. School starts today and it is his first day back teaching physics and his second love, biology. I got busy and watered my garden, picked some peas, and did those early morning chores.

While my baby boy cooed and played on his blanket on the floor next to me, I browsed around on my favorites on flickr.com and stumbled across a group called “Whimsical”. So many artists can be found there and I found myself browsing around there for an hour. On to another blog I read pretty regularly and her most recent post being rather whimsical. She’s so talented and very creative. Check out her work. I wonder if she posts anything on this site. There is so much activity.

With this, I look at the mess in my living room: the hundreds of old photos all needing to be put in an album/scrapbook. They have been in a box for several years. Right now I am simply trying to organize them. Dog photos; people portraits; vacations to Bermuda, Carribean, Grand Canyon; horses; food; feet; me. Old photos and really old photos. Scribbles on notebook paper all bound in folders; research papers; parents highschool diplomas; degrees; grade cards from way back when.

Not only will I be organizing these treasures, I am scanning all of them for archive purposes but also to print and create something wonderful for my boy. I have started a small book for him, all written with brush and in calligraphy, poems I have written through my pregnancy and following his birth.

I love this—he just rolled over!!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2009 in baby, Photography

 

5 responses to “Stacks of Photos

  1. sheilaparas

    August 25, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I love this photo, and your point of view.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

     
  2. swanpetal

    August 25, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I wondered why I was getting so many readers lately… thank you so much Anita! I just got some more things that I’m going to make beautiful pieces of art with. Eventually to be sold on Etsy. 🙂

    I belong to so many different sites and groups, it’s hard to keep up sometimes. I’ll have to checkout that group too. I’ve dabbled on flickr a little over the years, but took my stuff down when I opened my main website.

    Your boy will treasure the book you make for him… the scanning archiving process can be a long, time consuming task, but very rewarding in the end.

     
  3. Rick A.

    August 26, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Most of us have shoe boxes, drawers, and now hard drives full of photos. Ultimately, the best way to consolidate print and digital photo collections, and to maximize the ability to creatively share images, is by creating a searchable digital image library. A project that can be accomplished in disciplined steps over time. Your baby boy and distant relatives will thank you for organizing, captioning, and sharing.

     
  4. riverdrifter

    August 26, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I have enjoyed viewing your photographs. Your stories are great and take me to a good place. I’ll be back for more. Keep up the good work.

     
  5. Bill Bartmann

    September 18, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

     

Leave a Reply

 
