RSS

Froggy

23 Aug

FrogR

Now I know why my tomato crop is so poor this summer. I had about 12 small chellos almost ripe and I went to water yesterday and every single one of them were gone. I found 2 Box Car Willie tomatoes almost ripe on the ground with deep narrow puncture wounds. The same applies for my Jubilee but that plant just has not even produced decent sized anything. The Sweet Cluster plant has done nothing but bloom its little head off. Last night while snuggled up on the sofa with my husband munching popcorn enjoying a spooky alligator movie, we saw movement on the back porch and it was not my missing cat. It was a raccoon.

When Natalie was put outside a month ago, we put food and water out for her. Each morning, the water dish and food bowl were completely empty and scattered. Strange. I knew other cats came up but this looked violent.

My husband wants to lure that coon back up to the porch tonight in hopes of getting good shots of him with the camera. I am looking at getting a good shot of him with my shot gun. Next year I am going to have to set up a coon-proof garden.

The frog in the photo above was taken over the past few weeks on one of our weekly outings to the pond. It’s not easy capturing frogs for one must be very quiet and move slowly. This includes leaving the hyperactive and very curious dog at the house.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2009 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Froggy

  1. fivereflections

    August 23, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    the frog looks like it is posing!

     
  2. novembersbreeze

    August 23, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Great photos! I have enjoyed looking at your blog. Can I include you on my blog list of places to visit?

     
  3. wildstorm

    August 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Five, he does doens’t he and I did not scare him off this time.

    November, thanks a bunch for visiting and yes, include me!

     
  4. montucky

    August 23, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Nice shot: you did well to catch that guy! The other day I tried to get a shot at one and just couldn’t get it.

     
  5. wildstorm

    August 23, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    It is work trying to shoot frogs. Keep trying montucky.

     
  6. Anna Surface

    August 25, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Neat froggy peeping up from the water. 🙂

     
  7. Preston Surface

    August 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Got to admit the frog looks really cool.

     

Leave a Reply

 
