RSS

Cutting Back

22 Aug

RoundBales

Photo taken near Whitesboro Texas 2008.

Since I had the baby I have not been working. My job did not take me back following maternity leave so I have had to be pretty creative in stretching the dollar in our home. It has been challenging but it also has been quite interesting.

First of all, we pray. We keep God the center of all of this.

I have far more control over expenses when I am not traveling nationwide. Back then, I thought my bills were low because I was never home and had an expense account. Unfortunately that wasn’t the case. Since much of my time is spent right here in my house I control how much electricity is used, the amount of food consumed and how it is prepared, and what goes out and what comes in.

I planted my own vegetable garden in the spring. I’ve put a way quite a bit that should last for at least six months. It was a small experimental garden. Laundry is only done at night or very early in the morning. For the summer months, I hung a bunch of stuff up to dry. YOu don’t want to use the washer/dryer in the middle of the day at peak times. My dishwasher doesn’t work. No problem. I am perfectly capable of washing dishes, thus reducing energy. I clip coupons and set weekly goals.

Also since I am not on the go all the time, I hardly drive. The cost of gas is down considerably. My husband has a job that he could walk to so really this is very good for us.

Home Depot offers classes on how to fix stuff around the house. I have attended some of those. We are learning to do just about everything around her ourselves.

Do we have fun? Of course we do. But then under the circumstances, it is not what it was. Friends come over. We spend more time with extended family. There are no trips to the Arlington ball park, no vacation this year across the U.S. But we can pack up the ice chest, the baby, and things we enjoy and go to the lake, and just enjoy the day. For now, that will work just fine. This has been so good for our marriage.

The best part is that I get to spend all this time with my baby boy and my husband. I haven’t seen much of my husband for the past 4 years. I grew up with my mom doing much the same thing and I remember the beautiful memories from that time. We did not have a lot but in my eyes back then, we had enough. I do want life to ease up and it will over time. For now, we make the most of it and learn the meaning of cutting back.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2009 in Photography

 

4 responses to “Cutting Back

  1. burstmode

    August 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    I prefer the time with my children…

     
  2. wildwesty

    August 23, 2009 at 4:50 am

    sometimes doing without makes you appreciate things more. You seem contented, and that’s good!

     
  3. Beyond Bluestockings

    August 23, 2009 at 6:35 am

    It sounds like you have a great plan for managing on the one income. It can seem a huge thing to reduce your income so drastically when having a baby, but it’s surprising how much you waste when you are both earning, and how easy it is to make changes once you are home.

     
  4. wildstorm

    August 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Beyond, you are right…I realized how much we wasted before.

    Westy, I appreciate things so much more.

    Children are #1 Bursty. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
