RSS

Your Window

21 Aug

HolyCityWindow

Photo taken August 2009 at Holy City of the Wichitas at the Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge just outside of Lawton, Oklahoma.

There is quite a collection of window photographs in folders on my drive. I enjoy windows. I think of windows of one of life’s metaphors and how they pertain to the lives of those persons close to me.

I have two windows. My window looking out is large, clear, with a view of wide open spaces and an unending road. Looking in, my window is open, tinted, with a fresh breezing blowing the white curtains inside.

Windows, like people, are very different: stained, broken, barred shut, curtained, clear, and more. The window in the photo above is like that of a friend I have known for a while–stained and very difficult to see inside; difficult to open, yet its beauty draws one in to learn.

What is your window?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Your Window

  1. Anna Surface

    August 21, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Beautiful! I love windows as well as doors! My window is rustic that has survived the tests of time open to the wide sweeping prairies and skies. 🙂

     
  2. lowandslow

    August 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Excellent post. I’d say mine is pretty transparent, although with just a little tint. 😉

    S

     
  3. Wes

    August 21, 2009 at 10:25 am

    You need to turn pro

     
  4. livevitale

    August 21, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Wow, wonderful words and post. My windows looking out are always curtainless and wide open for me to view the world. I’d like to think my window looking in leaves a little bit to the imagination. Thanks for opening my eyes to this revealing, simple example of life.

     
  5. Jomoi

    August 21, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    loving your photos and posts here.

     
  6. ~*~Patty

    August 22, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Windows and doors speak to me as well, this photograph is fabulous, the color and texture really great!!!
    Beautiful and thoughtful writing to go with!

     
  7. Marc

    August 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I’d like to see the photos at a size that fits in my monitor without having to scroll.

    http://www.one-photo-a-day.com

     
  8. wildstorm

    August 22, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Marc, I have wondered about my photos being too big. They fit my screen but still seem really big. Thanks for letting me know.

    All comments are so appreciate and it is interesting to learn each persons perspective. Thanks.

     
  9. WildBlack

    August 22, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    WoW! Great pic with equally amazing words! well said! If you ask about me/my window.. I dont know, you tell me! 🙂

     
  10. rustydiva

    August 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    This is a great shot…love the colors!

     
  11. wildstorm

    August 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Rusty, Thank you! The colors are as is. I took the shot late afternoon and did not do any processing in photoshop.

    Wild, Glad you stopped by. I like your name.

     

Leave a Reply

 
