RSS

Photo Memories

21 Aug

BikewheelSP

There are about 4 boxes and two small dresser drawers full of photographs, albums, cards, and special items my mom and dad had. Tonight I took one of the boxes and went through all of it carefully organizing according to person and time. I pulled out one of the dresser drawers and managed to get everything out and situated in stacks. Many photos and notes were thrown away this evening since I found I had two or three of everything.

Highschool diplomas, college degrees, certificates of accomplishments, and grade cards. Mom’s scrapbook, dad’s childhood photos, my baby book. Several years ago I pulled all of the photos of my sister, scanned them and sent the originals to her for her own scrapbook. At least I have copies. She and I are very close and I want to have some of these things for my own memory albums.

Way back in the day (1997) I started making scrapbooks with Creative Memories. It became rather expensive but it definitely gave me a very creative path to keep all my pictures and special things. Since digital came along, I know keep most all of my pictures online on smugmug. This way I can access them anywhere in the world. Only those photos that will be sent as gifts or with a card will be printed.

Unfortunately I have not yet completed my albums. There remain many photographs from albums that have needed to be torn down and renewed. For the next several weeks, I am going to make an attempt at getting it all done. I am also going to scan all the older photos for preservation purposes and I just might share a couple here.

As I put things away for the evening, I place my parents special documents in the now empty dresser drawer and slide it back in. This dresser was used when my mother was a child and is part of a bedroom suit that has been in our family for many years. For now, this is the most appropriate and special place for these memories.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in Black and White, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Photo Memories

  1. burstmode

    August 22, 2009 at 7:21 am

    That is an interesting photo!

     
  2. ~*~Patty

    August 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

    wonderful photo….boxes of memories…so many stories….
    I find it challenging to organize photos that I store on the net, hardly ever get prints…which is a good thing since I already have lots of photos that could be put into albums….but when? LOL

     
  3. Marc

    August 22, 2009 at 10:20 am

     
  4. wildstorm

    August 22, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Thanks Bursty. Glad you stopped by.

    Patty, you are right about having lots of photos.

    Appreciate the kind comment Marc. Thanks.

     
  5. canonscanon

    August 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for the ideas with the layout of your blog. Love the bike wheel! canon

     
  6. WildBlack

    August 22, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I like the saturation in this one! very nice.

     
  7. wildstorm

    August 23, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Canon, thanks for your kind comment.

    Wild, thanks. I used sepia and then a texture/border mask.

     

Leave a Reply

 
