RSS

The Influence of Blogging

16 Aug

ButterflyAug162

Photo above taken today, Sunday, while on my walk with my husband to the stock tank.

It started with themestream.com in 2000. My friend led me there and insisted I started writing articles on a variety of topics that I knew something about: travel and nursing. At the time, she was writing a true crime book and was home schooling her three girls. Many of her articles were about home school and writing: getting published, writing for e-zines, and more. The sight was a pay sight in that for every hit that you got, you got a very small monetary amount but overtime it added up. There were some pretty good writers there. It was also a community.

I don’t know how Themestream survived as long as it did but it finally crashed and burned. They still owed me $70 for the past three months of articles. Fortunately they gave notice so that all members could back up up work.

After the burial of Themestream, I discovered how much I liked posting photographs on the web and was becoming a serious photographer. I did not have high-end equipment but what I did have I made the most of–learning composition, light, balance, and so on. Wunderground.com is where I got started. There was no writing unless you wanted to write an interesting caption or description of your nature/weather photograph.

It was in the dark evening of September 2004. I found a blog kept by my true crime friend on Journalspace. I asked her about it and then I signed up. I did not write my first entry until November. Blogging was new to me. I did not know the direction to be taken. Do I write short fiction, republish what I wrote on Themestream, share my life experiences?

Being very active on a large Arabian horse forum, I began to write about my new and very young Gelding, Carter Joe. I liked the group although there were not many horse people writing there. At that time it was important to have blogging horse buddies since I was starting my horse life all over again. I made a few friends at first and over time got to know several bloggers whose blogs I read daily. There blogs varied and I had quite a favorites list in six months with all very different writers and photographers.

By 2005 I was flying all over the country. I was home only on the weekends thus it was difficult to keep and maintain friendships in this town I had only lived in for the last year. Journalspace gradually fulfilled that need of having consistent communication with people other than my co-workers. My blog at the time was committed to be all about my experience with my horse. But with travel, I concentrated more on taking photographs of places I worked.

This opened up a new world for me. For one, it disciplined me to use my imagination to write about subject matter I did not know a whole lot about. I had to study, investigate, and then write. Much of this was about places I visited, thoughts I had on whatever everone else was blogging about. My very personal life was not subject matter. I wrote about God, horses, photography, travel, and sub categories related to those. But what was most important was sharing my photos.

Since 2004, I have joined a variety of photo community websites, Arabian horse forums, and write routinely on WordPress. I left Journalspace in 2007 when the site became more of a social outlet instead of a place to blog and relationships with others developed that impacted how and what I wrote.

Wildstorm is my primary blog. Here I continue to write about my photography, my travels, horse stories and more recently and sharing more about the person behind the camera, the writer. I have made good friends over the years, some who I have met in person and others who I hope to meet. But for now, it is a vessel for sharing the gospel of Christ, and those things that make me who and what I am.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2009 in Photography

 

15 responses to “The Influence of Blogging

  1. mdee88

    August 16, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    She’s a beauty! Love the details and the earth colors. Thank you for visiting =)

     
  2. wildstorm

    August 16, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    And thank you for your kind comment on my butterfly.

     
  3. erwin nanes

    August 16, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    nice. i find insects are pretty hard to capture. great shot!

     
  4. WildBlack

    August 17, 2009 at 5:32 am

    What a beauty! Great details & lovely colours too. Thanks for visiting. You have very interesting site! will be back 🙂

     
  5. Anna Surface

    August 17, 2009 at 8:02 am

    That is a gorgeous butterfly shot! Wow! Interesting how one unfolds through the contacts and relationships on the internet of various means. Seems like you’ve been through a lot of learning and expanding and now focusing.

     
  6. Marc

    August 17, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Great shot. Nice blog.

     
  7. chucksmasonry

    August 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Greetings. I’m brand new to blogs and enjoyed your blog. Butterflies, horses, nature. I’m 53 and married. We live on a 5 acre piece of land, my wife is Thai and we grow vegetables that we sell at the flea market in Tampa on weekends. I thought it was great that your blog is a vessel for Christianity and I’m for jesus myself, but it seemed a bit odd that you did not link or expound more on that. God bless. Chuck. Reply if you feel like it.

     
  8. wildstorm

    August 17, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Hi Chuckmasonry, if you go way back in my blog, you will find many entries that I include scriptures with my photos or experiences. Thanks so much for your kind comment and for visiting.

     
  9. wildwesty

    August 18, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    that’s a lovely photo! as usual. And I remember well your tales about Carter.

    I’m glad you continued blogging….

    P.S. is the true crime gal the one who went under the name “truecrime”? If so, tell her hi from me!

     
  10. wildstorm

    August 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Westy, I will pass this along to that truecrime gal!

     
  11. Maggie Mae

    August 18, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    I have enjoyed your blog for close to a year now. Thru your great photography I have seen things that I know I would probably of never seen.
    I continue to enjoy my ride along the “backroads”.
    I have seen photos and read stories here that make me proud to be an American. I know that this sounds a little over the top but it’s the truth. With 24 hour cable news and the constant bombardment of bad news it is nice to hear about the real America.
    I admire your photography and enjoy your writing and most of all I am glad that you take the time to share.

     
  12. Aimz Q

    August 19, 2009 at 1:13 am

    beautiful shot! love the close up! 🙂 btw thanks for the comment 🙂

     
  13. Hugo - Travel Nurse Salary

    August 30, 2009 at 9:50 am

    beautiful and professional shot. worth going to mydesktop

     
  14. Bill Bartmann

    September 3, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Cool site, love the info.

     
  15. deepcries2deep

    September 25, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Great picture!!
    Your captured the stillness of the moment really well!

     

Leave a Reply

 
