RSS

Empty Building

15 Aug

blg

Being very drawn to taking pictures of old delapitated structures, I have always wanted to go inside of this one. I do not believe it is in real bad condition on the inside but it definitely needs some attention. It sits back off the 75 in Sherman, Texas and can be seen from the highway.

It is the way the light is cast across the dusty details of peeling paint, warped floor boards, aged bricks that appeals to me so. I crave that mystery of what once was. Most all of the old abandoned buildings I have photographed have been from the outside. I must now take the risk and feel the creaky floor under my footsteps.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2009 in Photography

 

10 responses to “Empty Building

  1. swanpetal

    August 15, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I love exploring old abandoned places… you never know what you’ll find. What type of building is this?

     
  2. Mark

    August 16, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Take the risk.

     
  3. Steffie

    August 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    This is a great shot. You catched the atmosphere just fine. I feel exactly the same as you do about delapidated buildings, but until now I never had the nerve to go inside. So I do hope you are going to get thru with this because I can’t wait to see the pics.

     
  4. rediflex

    August 16, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    This is excellent. Makes me want to come to Texas to explore some.

     
  5. wildstorm

    August 16, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    S, I am not sure what this building was used for.

    I plan on taking far more risks Mark. Thank you.

    Thanks Steffie. I ‘ll post photos once I get the nerve up to start going inside!

    Rediflex, there is so much to explore. Thanks for stopping by.

     
  6. Andrew

    August 17, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I really like the texture the brick wall provides! Great photo!

     
  7. wildstorm

    August 18, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks Andrew.

     
  8. davecandoit

    August 19, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Nice shot. I’m big into this sort of photography too.

     
  9. Basanta

    August 20, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Impressive! An empty house is always filled with sadness.

     
  10. kitchentent

    August 28, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Love this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
