RSS

Two Faces

30 Jul

MeCarter

We awoke early this morning to a loud thunderstorm. Rain was heard pattering the windows. There is nothing better than being curled up warm in bed dreaming and waken gradually by the sound of rain. But a loud rumbling of thunder is heard and bright flashes of lightning in the dark hours of the morning. I pull my blanket up over my shoulder and watch the light reflect on my walls in my bedroom. Objects near the windows produce haunting shadows while the curtains blow in the wind. That window needs to be closed.

It is now 7 a.m. The sun is filtered by the remaining clouds and the birds crowd the feeder. I love fragrant mornings after a rain. I pour a cup of red tea and sit out on the porch. In the cool of the morning Natalie meows as she rubs against my ankle waiting for her morning petting and dish of food. I scratch her head then lean back and take a sip of tea. With eyes closed, my face is tickled by a strand of hair on a breath of a gentle breeze.

I rode Carter this evening while my husband took pictures of flowers. He took our picture by the pond.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2009 in My horses, Photography, Self Portrait

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Two Faces

  1. Anna Surface

    August 1, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Wildstorm, this is a nice photo of you and Carter. How blessed you are to be around horses, befriend them, and to ride them.

     
  2. Preston Surface

    August 2, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    When the lightening strikes and the thunder booms, I have a little Shih-tzu pawing the side of the bed wanting to be picked up. I pick up Moppet and he quickly runs up to the head of the bed between Anna and I and shivers until the storm passes.

    Great photo and your passage is beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
