RSS

Bathed in Quietude

27 Jul

InsideBW

“We need quiet time to examine our lives openly and honestly. . . spending quiet time alone gives your mind an opportunity to renew itself and create order.
Author:  Susan L. Taylor

Before I got married, I had a job that kept me away from home often.  I listened to talk radio much of the time.  But when at home, whenever that was, I had the TV on for noise but really found nothing worth while to watch.  I discovered the Independent Film Channel and that changed. 

When I came home though, I enjoyed the quietness of the house.  I’d open the windows enjoying the cool desert breeze and capturing the fragrance of the china berry tree in my back yard.   In the evenings I would find what IFC movie was on, pour a glass of my favorite Pinot.  I might call a friend or simply enjoy this time for myself.   

Overtime I discovered how much I liked the quietness.  I lived on a larger property so  there was no noise from neighbors.  I would often sit outside my bedroom on the porch in my jammies under the night sky and listen to the desert wind whisper secrets to the shadows of the moonlight.   You can do that in the desert. 

Now that I share my life with my husband and baby boy, I treasure quietness more than ever.   There are times when I take my lunch at work, I find a very quiet place.  I don’ t want music, news, people.  I want solitude.   At home, especially of late, when the baby is asleep and my husband is away, I turn everything off.  All I want to hear is the cardinals arguing over seeds in the feeders outside my kitchen window; the wind blowing through the trees behind my house. 

It’s ten p.m.  The baby is asleep and husband is working in his office where a TV is on, a movie is in another computer, and he’s working on a customer’s hard drive.  It is very overstimulating in there.  I am pouring my evening bath.  The candles are lit, my towel is neatly folded on the chair next to my tub.  The covers on my bed are pulled back.   My hair is pulled up in a clip.  I can smell the feminine fragrance of the gardenias in the Bavarian dish on my make-up counter.   They are my favorite flower. 

With this, I shall sleep so peacefully.  That is until my baby wakes me up.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2009 in Black and White, Photography

 

4 responses to “Bathed in Quietude

  1. swanpetal

    July 28, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    I enjoyed this entry and your words are very inspiring. I love quietness and solitude as well and it is so precious.

    I can imagine how noisy a baby can be… there is a two month old in the next complex here and I can here him often!

    I love coming home after a nights work to the quietness of my apartment. Sitting on my deck with all my plants and flowers, my cat purring next to me. That only lasts until about 4pm then kids start coming home, cars with their boomboxes, people checking their mail and loitering…

    It’s these quiet, simple pleasures that helps keep us in tune.

    xx

     
  2. traces of texas

    August 6, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Really a lovely post.

    Thanks.

     
  3. fivereflections

    August 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    i have enjoyed browsing your complete site – very interesting and great photos.

    i could almost hear sounds of silence in your words… powerful awareness indeed.

    “Overtime I discovered how much I liked the quietness. I lived on a larger property so there was no noise from neighbors. I would often sit outside my bedroom on the porch in my jammies under the night sky and listen to the desert wind whisper secrets to the shadows of the moonlight. You can do that in the desert.”

    thanks for sharing

     
  4. burstmode

    August 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

    hehehehe…excellent photo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
