RSS

Sulfur, Oklahoma

25 Jul

CoolSulfer

The park at Sulfur, OK smells like sulfur. We pulled into the parking lot to look at a map we picked up a town or two earlier and rolled down the windows. I leaned out to take a photo of the water fountain and was confronted by this horrendous odor. A couple of boys were riding their bikes across the parking lot while a woman lit a cigarette and walked over to a bench under a tree. I needed to feed my baby but we left the park quickly and drove a mile to the recreation area along the 177.

Sulfur has quite a bit to see and do. Main Street has a variety of antique shops, western stores and I am beginning to sound like the Chamber of Commerce. In September, there is a horse show and antique tractor show. My family in the midwest attends a lot of those. But then, around here, there are a lot of horses and tractors. You could say that Sulfur is best known for its being the Gateway to the Chickasaw National Recreation Area, a place I hope to spend more time at as our boy grows.

The photo was taken at that park using my Nikon.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2009 in Oklahoma, Photography

 

6 responses to “Sulfur, Oklahoma

  1. Wizardress

    July 25, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I would love to see that myself. Hope your weekend is going great! *hugs*

     
  2. george

    July 25, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    so that is it cher my love Lovely surroundings Dear, thanks for silent update cher I wondered you dear,

     
  3. Doug

    July 26, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Where my sister in law lives there is sulphur in the water. They say you get used to it, I say don’t think so. It can be treated by water softening equipment, I think. I would have shot that photo through the glass 🙂

     
  4. Itiswell

    July 27, 2009 at 3:04 am

    Its a lovely picture despite the sulphur.

     
  5. iheartfilm

    July 27, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Despite the sulphur, still looks refreshing. 🙂

     
  6. jesse

    November 22, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    does anyone know a bailey mcmicheal

     

Leave a Reply

 
