RSS

Zimmatic

22 Jul

20Zymmatic1

The Texas temperature has not been as hot as it was the last two weeks. In fact, it was so nice this morning I regret not going jogging early or taking the baby out for a stroll before the sun got too high. I have been getting my exercise this week playing with my horse doing ground work. That means I am on the ground! We walk all over the pasture and get the horses used to being handled once again, mount and dismount in various places. There is so much to be done but I expect by the end of summer, both horses will be very safe to ride. And just maybe I can get rid of these extra 15 pounds.

The photo above was taken by me outside of Amarillo, Texas on one of my work assignments several years ago. As children we were introduced to irrigation since our parents farmed alfalfa and other crops. About ten years ago on one of my many trips to the Permian Basin, I learned more of the center pivots and began photographing them.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

5 responses to “Zimmatic

  1. widi

    July 22, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    What’s this?

     
  2. wildstorm

    July 22, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    It is a gigantic sprinkler. It’s a center pivot irrigation system. When looking at them from the sky, they form large circles. They are water powered and there are many different types.

     
  3. Ken

    July 23, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Very cool, how can I contact you? Thanks.

     
  4. Itiswell

    July 24, 2009 at 4:43 am

    You really like photographing irrigation systems dont you! Hows the little and big guy doing?

     
  5. Anna Surface

    July 24, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Oh, I like this. I’m always captivated by the irrigation sprinklers in the crops. Great shot!

     

Leave a Reply

 
