RSS

Holganized

18 Jul

69247

It’s been over a year that I discovered HolgaNizer. I don’t use it much because I have two Holga cameras; one with a flash, the other without. There are two rolls of black and white medium format film that needs to be developed and I live in rural America where many have never heard of such a thing as the Holga and few even know what medium format is.

I am bored with my photography. Last week I pulled out the two Holga’s simply to use up the remainder of the film in each one. In the olden days, I took pictures of my cats. I have hundreds of cat pictures on 35mm film for that very reason–to get it developed. Now, I treasure every bit of space on that film strip and am not so willing to take casual shots just because. Mistakes though can turn into masterpieces so lets see what happens with these two rolls.

Black and white is favored but I am willing to try out some color film the next time I get to Wolf or Arlington. And what makes my photos have impact is the use of the tunnel vision lens. The fisheye lens is another that has appeal but these lenses that attach to the front of the Holga by way of a small magnetic ring are twice the cost of these cheap plastic cameras.

Plastic has personality and each camera has its own. The lens is plastic. You can buy Holga’s with glass lenses but who wants predictability. Another interesting aspect that I am learning quickly how to manage is multiple exposures.

But enough of this. I found this website and for the fun of it while listening to Jimi Hendrix, I present to you a photo I took two weeks ago during one of my walks through Deep Ellum processed by Holganizer. Go to the Holganizer website and follow the very simple instructions.

Show me what you do.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2009 in Holga, Photography

 

3 responses to “Holganized

  1. Jen

    July 18, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Glad to hear you’re shooting with your Holgas again! I look forward to seeing your results 🙂 🙂

     
  2. swanpetal

    July 18, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I’ve always wanted a Holga… and I really need to get the laptop fixed so I can use my psp software. Everything is becoming so digital, and it saddens me a bit.

     
  3. wildstorm

    July 18, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks Jen. You’ll see my Holga shots on flickr and here as well .

    S, YOu can pick up a Holga for about $35 at a camera store. There’s tons of info on the web too about all that can be done with them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
