RSS

My Dragonfly

17 Jul

Greendragonfly

One of my favorite bugs is the dragonfly. There are many that fly around at the stock tank. While in my garden this morning I noticed this beautiful green one. I must say though that the blue one is my favorite.

Dragonflies are easy to photograph because they sit still. Often they will land on a twig and you can pretty much guarantee that the specimen will return to that exact spot once he flies off for whatever business there is to manage. Thus, having the camera and tripod situated aiming toward that very place can provide the perfect photo opportunity.

There are many varieties of dragonflies and damselflies. I also have photos of damselflies in my collection. One of the differences between these two is that damselflies do not hold their color when chilled. You can visit the Damselfly and Dragonfly website for more information of these two species.

My collection of bug photos is at my personal bug gallery on smugmug. Tomorrow, my family and I are headed back to Hagerman Wildlife Refuge to explore the area after its recent flood in hopes to find some interesting bugs and birds. It shall be a bit cooler tomorrow.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2009 in bugs, Photography, Texas

 

10 responses to “My Dragonfly

  1. george

    July 17, 2009 at 11:44 am

    the dragonfly is one of the most beautiful insects I have ever seen, and one of the Most Prolific Varieties if you see them where their natural prey are found, the mosquitoes which is in the marsh in south louisiana for instance, I saw often swarms of them in the hot wet summer times in South Louisiana as a child.
    Also, the symbolic significance is solidly seen in the description and the colors as well, I love them and their purpose, as a Limiting factor to the suffering of man, by the mosquitoes, there is even a song by I beleive the Dawnbusters an old morning show on WWL as a child I heard them sing a Ditty for advertisement of some substance against Mosquitoes, the Line goes something like this, “When the Mosquites Get You Down,….” Kuut, amen

     
  2. Wizardress

    July 17, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Beautiful! Great shot, and also one of my faves! Hope you are having a great day and that your weekend is a great one! *hugs*

     
  3. kate

    July 17, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Wow! What detail!

     
  4. burstmode

    July 17, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Nailed the shallow depth of field…

     
  5. Shannon

    July 17, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Wow. This is a great insect shot.

     
  6. Jen

    July 18, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Pretty – they’re one of my favourites too!

     
  7. Anna Surface

    July 18, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Gorgeous close-up capture. I’m fond of dragonflies too. 🙂

     
  8. elegies

    July 21, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Great exposure.

     
  9. digitalshootingdotnet

    August 19, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Beautiful macro. What kind of lens did you use ? Thanks for sharing the Digital Dragonfly Museum link. I will probably find some informations about the species I photographed today. I will let you know when I post them. I need some time to sort them out 🙂

     
  10. davecandoit

    August 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Amazing. I really need to invest in a better camera. I love great macro shots. As a kid I used to be terrified of dragon flies. Well done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
