RSS

Bronco, Texas

14 Jul

BroncoBW

Early in 2008, I had posted this entry but for some reason there was a problem with the jpg file for this photo. 

Bronco, Texas was one of those little ghost towns that you drive through with out really knowing you were driving through it.   The photo was taken in 2006.  If you hop on the 380 out of Lubbock and drive west for about seventy miles, you’ll end up in Bronco. 

 This is the kind of town, so small, that folks live their whole lives there.  Their kids often leave for greener pastures.  As a child, my family drove through this area for whatever reason parents drive this route.   It was between 1967-1979.  My dad was in the oil business and we also did some work around the region working land–cattle and alfalfa.   Thus we spent a lot of time in the country passing th rough little towns like this. 

I had not returned to this specific area until 2005 when my job sent me to Roswell New Mexico.  I flew into Lubbock and drove to Roswell.  And the first assignment I had in Roswell, I could not wait to get on the road headed westbound.  I had forgotten about Bronco until I got close to the NM/TX state line.  There sat that old gas station and this structure above in my photo.  It was difficult at first to see it because things change over time.  And they had.   But I captured what there was with my camera and my own memory. 

The last time I was in the area was 2007 and now a fence surrounds it where tumble weeds gather.  Nothing is ever the same.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2009 in Black and White, Photography, Texas

 

3 responses to “Bronco, Texas

  1. slamdunk

    July 14, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Interesting photo.

     
  2. swanpetal

    July 14, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Thank you for sharing glimpses of your life… I love seeing the photos and learning about new, old, and forgotten places.

     
  3. lynnwiles

    July 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Fabulous shot. I like your b&w’s a lot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
