RSS

Healthy Friendships

13 Jul

Dandion309

While in the pasture the other evening, I was wandering around the big blackberry thicket while friends picked berries.  It is time to mow and I was knee deep in grass and weeds seeking out bugs, birds, and flowers to photograph. 

I looked up and watched this family that I have known for almost ten years.  They are wonderful friends and were my next door neighbors in Victorville California.  When I moved to Texas, they were very interested in getting out of the upper desert during a time the housing market skyrocketed.  They sold and moved to the Dallas Metroplex.  

Looking at all the weeds in my pasture, I thought of the unhealthy friendships I have had over the course of my life.  Those relationships were much like these wild annuals:  pernicious, persistent, competitive, and hamper human activity. 

Weeds in our lives can be unhealthy relationships.  And while I write this, one of my readers will read this and roll up their eyes, nod their head, and move on to the next blog.  I say this because it is I who is maintaining this weed garden.  During the past few years, I have realized that when I thought this person was there to share in a good friendship and support me, that instead they were only in it to meet their own needs.

I spend each evening in my own vegetable and flower gardens around my home weeding.   Weeds destroy the healthy plants.  The same applies for the people we associate with. 

Although I can take a photograph of a weed and present it as a work of art, it is far more difficult to change the quality of those relationships that do not flourish and grow in my own life. 

The photo above was taken by me yesterday with the Nikon D50 with the macro setting of the 300 lens.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2009 in Black and White, Flowers, Photography, Texas

 

7 responses to “Healthy Friendships

  1. iheartfilm

    July 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Awesome. 🙂

     
  2. lowandslow

    July 13, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    If you look carefully at most “friends” you’ll see they want something. When they “offer” more than they “ask for”, I feel more comfortable. Not to make light of your point, but I remember a t-shirt I once saw: It said, “Friends will help you move. REAL friends will help you move THE BODY.” haha! 🙂

    S

     
  3. corybantick

    July 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Good to see you again!

    I’m pretty simple emotionally. Friendship – I have three friends, my hubby and my two kiddies. Other than that, sad as it sounds, I really enjoy reading and commenting on my JS ‘friends’ blogs. When JS disappeared, I was surprised at how much I missed people!

     
  4. Roslyn

    July 13, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    If you want to know who your friends really are, then look around when you or your partner get sick. Let me tell you. That can hurt.
    Ros

     
  5. elegies

    July 14, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Great photo.

     
  6. swanpetal

    July 14, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I understand this greatly… and that is a nice photo! 🙂

     
  7. Doug

    July 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I have no idea who my friends are…

     

Leave a Reply

 
