RSS

In The Rain Forest

10 Jul

wetmold

There was a time I took a trail and only saw the big stuff–the trees, the mountains, the sky, the valleys below.  Rarely did I pay attention to the delicate petals of the small flowered Blue Eyed Mary of the Eastern Sierra.  I took no time to notice the yellow lesquerella. 

Since I was 13, I carried a camera everywhere but took wide scenic shots.  These days, I look for anything and everything that the average person may not take time to see. 

You miss out if you are not looking what is around you.   It is so easy to not take time to appreciate a situation or slow down and pay attention to what beauty is around you. 

In 2007, during my walk through one of the rainforests of the Olympic National Park, I found these bodies of fungi.  This one in the photograph was probably about an inch and half, maybe two inches wide.  Look how beautiful it is with the moisture. 

Life is short.  Enjoy the pleasures of life.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2009 in Flowers, Photography, Washington

 

2 responses to “In The Rain Forest

  1. burstmode

    July 10, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Thanks for the reminder…it is beautiful.

     
  2. Anna Surface

    July 11, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Beautiful capture and thoughtful post. Yes, sometimes I switch my view and seeing and camera lens from wide angle to a detailed focus paying attention to what is normally missed. There is beauty in the smallest details. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
