RSS

Sky Over Whitesboro Texas

01 Jul

WhitesboroSkyJuly1

The baby has been put to bed.   I sit on the porch drinking sweet tea out of a mason jar.  A batter just hit a double at the ball park across the field and I can hear cheering in the stands.   The evening has cooled off after a big storm rumbled the north skies over the Red River.  I caught much of it on my Nikon and as I drove home, I captured this image above.  For those who have kept up with this blog,  I simply change cloud photos to gray scale or monocrome.  That is all I did with this one. 

Today I canned the first of my black eyed peas.  I grew up in kitchens where the garden vegetables were processed, canned, frozen, and eaten.   For the past few years, jams and jellies were all I made.  This year is different.  I have a good garden; a good one for it being the first planted in this yard.  Next year will be better. 

Black berries are growing like mad along both the fence and at the big thicket.  They are huge.  I have picked about 8 cups already and plan to put away enough for canning jelly, freezing, and making a few black berry cobblers.  I finally have my cobbler recipe just perfect.  That along with a canister of homemade vanilla ice cream, one can not ask for a more perfect way to close the day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2009 in Black and White, Photography, sky, weather

 

2 responses to “Sky Over Whitesboro Texas

  1. bard

    July 2, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Fantastic picture!

     
  2. Anna Surface

    July 2, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Gorgeous cloudscape and the detailed is wonderful in b&w. My, it has been a long time since I’ve had sweet tea in a Mason jar. Canning is a lot of work but provides so much from one’s labor and garden. I haven’t canned in ages. I do plan to put up my garden peas, squash, and corn as frozen. Love cobbler, and hopefully in a few years our blackberries will produce. Wonderful post. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
