RSS

Rain

02 Jun

Sunshinerain

The Sunday before Memorial Day it rained. It rained a good part of the day. The afternoon the sun peaked through the clouds and it rained again. This is my favorite kind of storm–when clouds pass over, rain, and move on allowing the brightness of the sun to cast brilliant color across the landscape.

In my backyard I had gone to check my garden. Snow cat joined me as I poured some bird seed into the feeder. She understands this task. We went back to the porch when we felt drops rain drops. The sun was shining brightly and it began to rain.

As I leaned against the brick wall on my porch capturing images of the sunfilled rain drops, my mother-in-law called. “Can you see that rainbow?” she asked? The rainbow was on the otherside of the house–a full arc. I did not have a wide angle lens wide enough to capture the entire rainbow.

These things make me happy.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2009 in Photography, Texas, weather

 

6 responses to “Rain

  1. fake-brunette

    June 2, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I saw the most beautiful viberant rainbow as I was up in the mountains and fel sad as I had no one to share it with

     
  2. wildstorm

    June 2, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Rainbows are something to be shared. Many times I have felt as you have fb.

     
  3. Laura

    June 2, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    I just love this photo. So calming.

     
  4. swanpetal

    June 2, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful photo of the rain! We’ve had warm and sunny weather here for the last three weeks at least. Right now it’s almost 90′ !! I hope next time you can catch that rainbow. 🙂

     
  5. burstmode

    June 4, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Of course there is a rainbow…there is a baby in the house.

     
  6. wildstorm

    June 5, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Thanks Laura, I think it is a rather calming photo to look at.

    Swan, I did take photos of the rainbow but now must piece the two together for a panoramic image.

    And Burst, you are right! And I showed the baby his first rainbow. =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
