RSS

Memorial Day 2009

25 May

CarterM2009

One of my favorite holidays is Memorial Day for several reasons. First it gives us a day to get together, friends and family, and enjoy the end of Springtime, the wildflowers, the open pasture, a ride on the horses and some fabulous food. But more importantly it is a day to remember all those that served our nation.

When I lived in California, for a number of years I went to Riverside National Cemetery near March Air Force Base to their annual event. My friend Richard served in the Army 22 years and eight days and this day was so important to him. Following the ceremony, we would leave and have lunch on Waterman in San Bernardino and sometimes find a motorcycle rally somewhere stopped for whatever they stop for. We liked looking at the bikes. R would often end up in lengthy conversation with a VN Vet.

Some years we drove to the Patton Museum at Chiriaco Summit near Palm Springs. There was usually an event out there both on Memorial Day and on Veterns Day. You’ve got to be careful in that desert in late May because it begins to warm up and mid day can be in the high 90’s now. It’s an interesting place with plenty of history. Plus, you can head into Palm Desert and have a fabulous lunch.

It’s time to call this a post and get my potato salad started. Carter will get a good brushing today and a lot of attention. I hope to take the baby’s first horse photo today. Carter has not yet met his new rider.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2009 in My horses, Photography

 

4 responses to “Memorial Day 2009

  1. matt

    May 25, 2009 at 9:46 am

    hi nice blog 🙂

     
  2. Doanli

    May 25, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I will have to go to that Patton Museum!!!!

    Carter and the Baby will be good friends, I’m sure. 🙂

     
  3. Itiswell

    May 25, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Im looking forward to the pictures of James riding on Carter. We are having our family picnic next week because family members are gone. Take care.

     
  4. Wizardress

    May 26, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Beautiful photo. Horses are such amazing creatures. I wish I weren’t scared of them- actuallyit’s the big teeth I’m scared of.

    I love potato salad. I haven’t had any in ages, but I love putting bacon pieces and olives in mine. I’m craving it now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
