RSS

Box Car Artwork

17 May

TaggedCarWhitesboro

Chasing trains was something I dreamed of doing as a child on horseback. We watched outlaws in the movies race along side of them jumping on from horseback. There would be some kind of hold up and somebody always got thrown off the train or shot or both. I always wondered what happened to the horse when five scenes later the outlaw is on that same horse in a different town.

That thought crosses my mind often when I drive on the highway to get to work and the train moves at the same speed on the track. In the old days of the wild west there were no traffic lights, speed limits, and your horse was more likely to slow down when facing an obstacle. Well, some horses might. These days things are constructed differently and it’s just no fun. But then I have no desire to crawl out the window of my car at 60 mph trying to jump onto a train car. It’s not safe. Really. And the cost of insurance…

I photographed this image while driving along a moving train coming into town yesterday. It’s hard to read and really study the artwork on these cars while driving. Plus, the speed law is very strict on this little road and this town needs money so it’s a “point and shoot” without looking through the viewfinder kind of photo. I had to rotate it about 4 degrees and crop.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Box Car Artwork

  1. Pastor Larry

    May 17, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I see a lot of train cars like this one.

     
  2. Preston Surface

    May 18, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I never thought about the horse in those movies. The heck with the train. I wouldn’t leave my horse like that, never… Probably wasn’t their horse anyways, not only were they train robbers, they were probably horse thieves as well. Unless it was the hero jumping onto the train. All hero’s horses will always follow and come to the hero when he whistles, so I suppose that is ok.

     
  3. Wizardress

    May 18, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Even though i’m not a fan of grafitti when it’s in places it shouldn’t be, there is alot of talent behind those cans of paint.

    There’s an area in a city near ours that has an entire building covered in grafitti- I think it was commissioned to be painted, but I want to go there and take some urbanish portraits of someone-

     

Leave a Reply

 
