RSS

Full

16 May

PondMay2009

Previous posts showed how low the water level was in our pond. This year we have received a very generous amount of rain. There is a pipe that takes excess water from this pond and empties it into the tank in our family’s pasture. But we got so much rain these past few weeks that one day the two ponds became one. It rained four inches in four hours.

The mosquitos are terrible. Last night I decided after dark to finish planting my rose bushes I received on Mother’s Day. I had already dug the ground but the soil was too wet and the holes filled with water as I dug deeper. I finished this project last night and although I did not get bit, I sure did feel them swarm around me. It’s nice to have a bush of rosemary growing. Rosemary seems to work well at keeping those bugs off my skin.

I am working on my Dallas photos next week for my “Dallas Finds” gallery on smugmug. Some will be posted here.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

5 responses to “Full

  1. Wizardress

    May 16, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I can’t wait to see your photos. We’re getting rain right now, but Desere informed me that next week it’s going to be great weather. I hope so, and hope your roses are in full bloom next year on Mother’s day!

     
  2. wildwesty

    May 16, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    we have had excessive rain lately, too. But as Wizzy mentioned, it’s supposed to get better next week.

    I hate mosquitos! Luckily I don’t live too near major water holes.

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    May 16, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Cool picture

     
  4. elegies

    May 17, 2009 at 3:43 am

    The bugs love me, so I have to be careful going out unprotected. I am officially tasty 😉

     
  5. wildstorm

    May 17, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I must taste good too!! Time to put bug spray on my horses too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
