RSS

Painted Bunting

05 May

7b1

This beautiful bird is found at my feeder at my new home. My in-laws have a pair at their feeder too. I live in town but live on the side of town where there is a forest behind my house between my back yard and the high school. Makes it appear we live out in the country. This morning I photographed 7 varieties of birds and there are more—like those mean blue jays.

Buntings are common in the south but some say they are rare. They are not rare, just rarely seen but their numbers are declining according to the Audobon society. Fortunately I get to see this pretty boy ever morning at breakfast.

This photo unfortunately is not sharp. It was taken on a dreary rainy day through the kitchen window with a very slow 80-300 telephoto lens all the while being supervised by my snow cat sitting in the same window pointing out which bird she likes the best. Hummmm.

I will post better quality shots of birds later.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2009 in Photography, Texas

 

6 responses to “Painted Bunting

  1. burstmode

    May 5, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    wow…I have never seen one!

     
  2. wildstorm

    May 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    You might have them in your area but perhaps more out in the countryside and not so much in the city. I was thrilled to find this one on the edge of town, but then my town only has 3700 residents. I also saw him sitting with a blue bird on the same fence. I’ll have more photos in future. There’s a lot of color in my bird feeder in the morning.

     
  3. Preston Surface

    May 6, 2009 at 4:59 am

    The bird is beautiful, as if hand painted. Looks great perched on the fence and the green background.

     
  4. Anna Surface

    May 6, 2009 at 7:03 am

    I have never seen a painted bunting! What a gorgeous bird and a treat to see!

     
  5. kate

    May 6, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I’ve never seen this bird before either. Beautiful!
    BTW, best wishes being sent about your job. *hugs*

     
  6. wildstorm

    May 7, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Another shot was taken yesterday when the sun came out and it is a much sharper image of this beautiful little bird. I will post more of him in the near future. And thanks Kate, about the job.

     

Leave a Reply

 
