RSS

Way Back When

02 May

In the past weeks, I have found a number of my readers and other bloggers whom I read post older photos of themselves. When JS was around, the original one, bloggers had also started this trend and tagged each other. I refused to play. However I decided today to post a photo of “way back when” but only to reminisce.

I was a BAND GEEK! Yes, and a proud one at that. But I only played in band my freshman and sophomore year in high school. Those were hard years and I struggled with life in general. Looking back, I wish I had remained in band for the four years in highschool. Marching band was the best really and had been what I wanted to do since I joined band in 6th grade. In Hobbs, NM, what mattered and continues to matter is high school football–The Hobbs Eagles.

I was conditioned at an early age that you went to highschool, made honor roll, and participated in some kind of school activity. Research shows that kids that participate in sports and activities held leadership positions in school and in the community. (Organization of Spirit Industry Providers September 2008). Thus band started in sixth grade and continued into seventh grade where we learned to march. That was so cool. I loved marching band and it was really the only thing that mattered, except for boys but I will not be writing about boys in this blog. Unfortunately, we had to move just prior to 8th grade and that landed me in concert band in Maryland. There was no marching, football games, etc. I did not like this one bit. Furthermore, most all the kids in band had private instruction. I had always held 1st chair in sixth and seventh grade but the kids in this part of the world had better quality instruments, private instructors and more opportunity.

Once in California, the following year, I played for two years and made some good friends. I loved band but still had not met my goals. Life is hard for kids especially ones that have moved all over the US in the past two years and whose mom died very recently. Family situations are very disruptive. But I have good memories of the time I was a band geek at M High at M California.

band

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2009 in Photography

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Way Back When

  1. wildwesty

    May 2, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I learned to play violin, which was worthless in marching band, obviously, and my high school didn’t have an orchestra. I can’t play it anymore 😦

    But I also marched with the band! For the 4 yrs, I marched ahead of our band with the banner! I loved it, too! We marched in competitions around the state. Do they even have competitions today?

     
  2. Ben

    May 2, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    What a coincidence! I played clarinet for over 7 years. I had private instructors and did the middle and high school thing, too. I was second chair in high school – which wasn’t bad considering there were something like 12 of us. Anyway, cool pic. Have a great weekend!
    ben

     
  3. joan

    May 3, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    That is adorable! You still look the same. Same mischievous look in your eyes 🙂

     
  4. Bobby

    May 4, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Thank you for being a sport!!!

    Cute pic.

    Bobby

     

Leave a Reply

 
