RSS

Black Eyed Peas

29 Apr

sprout

My family has planted vegetable gardens for generations. As young as I can recall, my mom would set my sister and I out with her in the larger field where she had rows of corn, sweet peas, green beans, cow peas, carrots, radishes, and squash. I am sure there were more varieties but I remember these coming up every year.

At harvest time, we all helped with snapping the beans, shucking corn, and cleaning up all that we picked. It wasn’t long before we had all that done that my mom had the big pots in the kitchen boiling preparing for canning and freezing.

With the cost of food these days, we decided to plant our own garden. This is the first in our new back yard so it isn’t a large area but more of a test to see how well the plants grow. The compost pile is situated just behind the shed and I add to it each week. By the winter it will be ready. I don’t anticipate having enough to do any canning but I will have enough for us and to share.

Furthermore, I know what I eat when I plant my own food; no pesticides, chemicals, handling by others. The work is hard but it is also burns off the stresses of the day.

The photo above is of the newly sprouted black eyed peas, aka cow peas. Rain has been promised for days but it has done very little. I have a feeling I will have to irrigate.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Black Eyed Peas

  1. Kasia Znana

    April 30, 2009 at 4:01 am

    it is so cute 🙂

     
  2. Shirley

    May 1, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I love this picture. I never cease to be amazed at seasonal cycles, the strength and passion of life. Beautiful

     
  3. Nadine Shaalan

    July 1, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Hello, I stumbled upon your beautiful, evocative picture of a bean sprout and wonder if you would be so kind as to allow me to publish it to illustrate a story we are doing on community gardening. We are a small weekly publication in the North Valley of Phoenix.

    Sorry about the short notice, but we would need to know today. (Early holiday deadlines!)

    Thank you so much for your consideration.

    Nadine Shaalan
    Editor
    In&Out Publications
    Anthem, AZ
    http://www.ioanthem.com
    623-556-6917

     

Leave a Reply

 
