RSS

Friendships

27 Apr

carnivalparatroopclose

Rain is finally here but it is nothing to brag about. If I would have left my car out of the garage with the window down, it would have poured for sure.

The last three weeks brought much joy to my home. Not only do we have a new member of our family, we’ve had friends and family members coming and going since the 8th. My sister and her boys were here for a week. Her husband, my brother in law, spend two days with us the weekend before J was born. This past weekend, my best friend from first grade and her son and parents stopped by for a visit on the way home from NM.

Treasure your friendships. They mean more and more as time passes and don’t let opportunities slip by. Friendships cannot be neglected and I feel like I have not been more attentive especially to those long distanct one’s over the years. I value my relationship with R because we met in 1st grade, became instant “best friends” and were in the same school for 3 years. Things changed with moving. In 4th-6th grades we were at different schools, but we still talked for hours on the phone and played together at each other’s homes. It was the end of 7th grade that I moved to the east coast. But we still wrote letters. She moved not long after that to the midwest. Our correspondence continued but letters gradually became fewer and fewer. I moved again in high school to the West coast. We had not corresponded in a couple of years except for maybe a Christmas card.

Finally, one evening, I found a phone number and made a call. We talked for an hour and vowed never to loose contact again. Well that was 1983. We’ve made calls, wrote letters, and I have visited her a number of times over the years during my summers at family homes in that area. For the first time in our adult lives, she came to my home this past weekend and it was an unexpected visit. I could write about this all day. But for now I will simply tell you, my kind readers, “True friendship consists not in the multitude of friends, but in their worth and value”. (Ben Jonson)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2009 in Photography

 

5 responses to “Friendships

  1. Wizardress

    April 27, 2009 at 11:52 am

    A, this is beautiful. I share the same sentiments when it comes to my friends, I cherish each and every one of them so much, and they are precious to me.

    Thank you for this beautiful tribute to those wonderful people in our lives we call friends.

    *hugs*

     
  2. fb

    April 27, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    sometimes you just can’t get the friendship back
    lives move on and change too much
    my friends from childhood live so far away and now we live totally different lives

     
  3. wildstorm

    April 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Thanks Wizzy.
    FB, there are times friendships cannot be maintained. And these days with how people move around so much, it is easy to loose track. I do understand.

     
  4. wildwesty

    April 28, 2009 at 10:34 am

    I’m not a fan of facebook, but I managed to get contact with a best girl friend there the other day. Unfortunately she lives so far away (Hawaii) that “sponteneous” visits aren’t possible. 😦

     
  5. wildstorm

    April 28, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Hawaii is not one of those places that is “on the way” to somewhere. Well its not like its on the way to Maljamar NM anyway. At least the internet has made the world a smaller place and opens the doors back into the lives of others.

     

Leave a Reply

 
