RSS

Electra, Texas

23 Apr

electratxbw4

Recently a visitor from another blog visited this one and their most current entry was Electra, Texas. I realized that I had not posted one on this little Texas found on U.S. Highway 287 and State Highway 477 fifteen miles northwest of Wichita Falls in northwestern Wichita County.

The Pump Jack Capital of Texas, Electra was the name of rancher Daniel Waggoner’s daughter. As with most towns in this region, town names come from some founder’s name, their wife’s name, a combination of children’s names, or the name of the post mistress who just may be someone’s grandmother.

I have been through Electa many times on my way to and from Amarillo. For some reason, I have always felt drawn to this little town and I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the name and the fact there is an annual goat barbeque each year that I have not yet attended. There’s the usual railroad that passes through and a story of oil, cows, or some other spark that got the town started.

On one trip, I was driving around with my camera and had spent quite a bit of time in town. Finally a Sheriff followed up behind me and indicated that I pull over. This is nothing new for me–this happens regularly. I simply explained my blog and my photo gallery of back roads Texas. We chatted briefly and I think he talked more about his daughter than he did of the town. I was hoping to get some scoop on life here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2009 in Black and White, Photography, Texas

 

4 responses to “Electra, Texas

  1. burstmode

    April 23, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I hope the Tigers were stopped. mmmm…bbq’d goat.

     
  2. tcbntx

    October 12, 2010 at 8:47 am

    County sheriffs are fun

     
  3. Dara Jones

    February 21, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    That’s the old Methodist Church that later was purchased by the Pentecostal Church. I am not sure when or why it was abandoned. It was still in operation in the 1970’s. At one time (1960’s) there was the Electra Bowling Alley across the street, but the roof caved in one night and it was demolished.

     
  4. wildstorm

    February 22, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Dara, thanks so much for your comment. The photo actually is much bigger and shows the entire building but when I changed this layout, it chopped half of it off. It saddens me that such buildings are abandoned yet sometimes the simply become inhabitable.

     

Leave a Reply

 
