RSS

Illiopolis, Illinois

07 Apr

iliopolischurch

Illiopolis is practically the dead center of the state of Illinois. At least it appears that way on a map. I had not spent much time there at all in my lifetime because it was simply a town between Decatur and Springfield on Old Route 36 and a driveby on the way to the state fair. Driving along the interstate, you’d be lucky to know it even existed if you pay attention to the signs.

This photo is of Resurrection Parish on the corner of Anne and Fourth Street.

This particular trip, we took Old 36 from Springfield back to Decatur just because. You’ll miss out if you stay on that interstate.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2009 in Churches, Illinois, Photography

 

5 responses to “Illiopolis, Illinois

  1. burstmode

    April 7, 2009 at 7:22 am

    I’ve been there! But I don’t remember this lovely church.

     
  2. Bobby

    April 7, 2009 at 8:47 am

    I have never been to that part of the country. Fascinating. I have missed out on so much of Americana it isn’t funny. I was born in the same zip code I live.

    Bobby

     
  3. Itiswell

    April 7, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Hi Anita. That is a beautiful church. I love the detail on the steeple. (((hugs))) Linda

     
  4. wildstorm

    April 7, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Bursty, I believe you can see the steeple from the interstate if you are paying attention. It’s a lovely little town.

    Bobby, I’ll bring Americana to you through my blog!! Stay tuned though becaus I’m going to be posting a lot of back roads “TEXAS” this summer.

    Thanks Linda, I think it is a beautiful church too.

     
  5. masterharper

    April 11, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Nice church
    Paslter Larry

     

Leave a Reply

 
