RSS

Seniors Rock!

25 Feb

The question of the day:  What drew you to working with seniors?

My answer:  I was greatly influenced by older folks at an very early age, particularly my grandparents who taught me to save money and to get good education.  I knew by fourth grade, I would have a career in health care and by sixth grade I knew I would have a masters degree.  In fact, it was embedded in my mind that formal education is not over until I have a masters degree.  Obviously education continues beyond that.  All that I was taught and encouraged by “older folks” has come to fruition. 

Another string that draws me to seniors is their contributions to society.  My mom always said that seniors are very smart because they have lived a long time and have absorbed so much information and experience.  It has been taught that these individuals are to be respected, distinguished, and admired.  I just happen to love them as well. 

So you have it.  My career is working with seniors and with seniors with dementia.  I love this work and cannot imagine doing anything else.  The picture above is of my mom when she was a child.  I won’t know her as a senior or have the opportunity to care for her in her later years.  She is in heaven now.  She taught me well as did her parents and my dad’s parents.  There are so many out there that I would also like to acknowlege here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2009 in Black and White, Photography

 

4 responses to “Seniors Rock!

  1. kate

    February 25, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom. How long has it been since you lost her? It’s a lovely pic!

     
  2. Itiswell

    February 25, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Im sorry about your mom too. You must miss her tons. I applaud you for working with seniors. Not everyone is gifted to do that type of work. I was always taught that a college education was important. However, I had no aspirations in going for a graduate degree. Its amazing how God changes one’s life. (((hugs)))

     
  3. wildwesty

    February 25, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I’m glad there are people like you around. My mom is now in a care home because of Alzheimers and it was getting too much for my dad.

    I posted a picture just for you in my most recent entry… well, TWO entries. *wink*

     
  4. masterharper

    February 26, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Now that is a cute little girl in the picture – a remembrance of past times of joy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
