RSS

Rest In Peace, Mickey

14 Feb

mickeytoward

It happened sometime this week.  I don’t care if I don’t know what day but I knew it was coming.  We talked about it in recent weeks but had hoped like we did last Winter, that he would get better by Spring.  Last winter he did.  He got through just fine.  This time he was in so much pain and was in the company of others constantly.  He did not want to be left in a room or outside alone even if it hurt to get up to follow.  Last Sunday he did not go to the pasture with me as he always does.  I knew then. 

It has been five years since I have lived here.  The first six months I did not work but instead spent hours each day with my horse.  Mickey expected me every day around 3:30 at the house.  He waited.  My pop said that on days I did not come over, Mickey waited until dark in the drive way facing the road and finally gave up near dark.   Once I started working, Mickey waited for me every afternoon and evening.  I came out to brush Carter and take our walk or ride.  Mickey lived for this.   Even after my job had me traveling, Mickey always knew the sound of my car and raced out to greet me.  He still waited for me every day. 

On Sunday’s he always took a walk after lunch in the pasture with us.  Whether I rode or walked, he ran along side sniffing out every possible area requiring canine inspection.   On warm days he took a dip in the pond and then immediately rolled in the red dirt.  He smelled bad all the way back to the house but we didn’t care.  He was happy. That’s what dogs do.

No matter what the day would bring, work or play, Mickey was there.  He always supervised my round corral workouts with Carter and sometimes I would allow them to play chase; Mickey running on the outside, Carter on the inside.  Those two were a pair.  When I first brought Carter home in 2004,  he and Mickey goofed off like two big pups.  They charged each other.  Mickey was fast then, very agile and could avoid those hooves that came his way when Carter raced after him. 

cartermickeyanitajan2906sm

He started slowing down a couple of years ago and it was brought up each year near Christmas as to when it would be time.  He was not able to take the full trail ride with Carter and me any longer and I stopped allowing him to walk along the road to the bridge with us.  A variety of illnesses began their journey through his body as did the necessary medication.  But he still found the energy and stamina to run along the trail with us during our walks in the pasture.   Only by this time I’d find him ahead of us resting.  Later he began to come back to the house without us.  He just could not tolerate the long walk.   But he didn’t want to miss out on a short outing.

This past year, I always petted him as if it were our last time and always gave him a good scratch around his neck.  Although I wasn’t there when Pop took him to the vet this week, I still feel at peace that he is not suffering.  My gallery is full of Mickey pictures and I have so many wonderful memories of this beautiful dog.   A good dog he was and a great friend.   We love you and will always miss you.

Mickey was 16.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2009 in Dogs, Photography

 

7 responses to “Rest In Peace, Mickey

  1. Journal Space Fem bot

    February 15, 2009 at 6:25 am

    I’m so sorry…I love my dog and I dread the day he will not be there when I come home to greet me

    Pet your friends, sometimes they understand and love us more than people

     
  2. Aafke

    February 15, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I’m so sorry you had to say goodbye to your dog! 😦
    I’m having a really difficult time, for my dog is not well enough anymore to join us on rides. Your story made me realise it’s a new stage.

     
  3. Itiswell

    February 16, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Im sorry that Mickey is no longer here. I know what it is like to loose a pet. (((hugs)))

     
  4. elisac

    February 17, 2009 at 9:04 am

    (hugs) Mickey sounds like he was a wonderful companion and friend. I also know what it is to lose a beloved pet.

     
  5. Joan

    February 17, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Oh, I am sorry. What a sad time for you. What lovely pictures you have to remember him by.

     
  6. patty

    February 18, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I hit a link on some blog because I liked the name of your blog, and I found Mickey.

    We lost our dog of 14 year a few years ago, and there is still an empty spot in our hearts.

    When we had to have her put to sleep, we stayed with her. We had her cremated and brought her ashes home and scattered them around the home we used to own in Georgia. We had six acres on the river and she loved to go on long walks with us.

    I burned the bed by the computer that she used to sleep in and put a candle in its place, and kept it lit for weeks. We also kept a candle lit by her favorite window where she would lie and watch the deer and turkey, and wait for friends to arrive.

    I still have her favorite toy by my desk, filled with patches that my husband had sewn on to keep the stuffing in, and we still have the Christmas bone we bought for her, all tied up in a red ribbon. She died four days before Christmas. She was a Yellow Lab.

    I know your heart is broken. Our sympathies to you.

     
  7. Maggie Mae

    February 26, 2009 at 7:22 am

    I’m sorry for your loss.
    Thanks for sharing him with us, it sounds like Mickey had a good life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
