RSS

Gone

15 Jan

The school building is demolished.  These words are gone. 

I think about the many bloggers from journalspace who have lost their words and photos.   What each blogger wrote was important to them to some degree.  I like what lowandslow said about blogging about an oil change.  It is mundane for most of us and probably for the person writing it.  Most of us could care less if we lost those types of entries.  But for others, their poems, their photos, their dreams, memories, and hardships were posted with significance.  Some wrote simply to express themselves but did not involve themselves in the community . Others wrote for feedback and I could accurately say that most JS bloggers wrote to fulfill that need for regard.  Many hungered for it.  

There are many reasons people blog.  And there are just as many reasons people read blogs. 

When conveying a message to readers how effective is your writing?   I think about the words scribbled on the door in the above photo.  Did that make any impact on the students at that highschool?  How long did it gain the attention it was meant to before becoming just another meaningless message? 

If writing for oneself such as a journal, one may not worry about the effectiveness of words.  But in many blogs, those written for specific audiences regardless of topic, the right words have power.  There is a psychology to which words resonate with readers.

Whatever you write, if it has any meaning at all to you, back it up.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Gone

  1. masterharper

    January 15, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I like these thoughts. I guess I am a mix in that I write for my self for some things and others things I am writing to an audience. I am blessed in both ways.
    Pastor Larry

     
  2. kate

    January 15, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I am always sad for schools that get knocked down! I’m too sentimental, lol.

     
  3. lowandslow1

    January 16, 2009 at 7:33 am

    In retrospect, it was a very impressive oil change. 😉

    S

     
  4. wildstorm

    January 16, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Kate, I photographed many parts of this school shortly before its demolition. Like you, I am sentimental and was really sad about it.

    Pastor Larry, I feel blessed in both ways as well. I write here for those reasons and do enjoy stimulating good conversation or debate about topics.

    Scott, indeed it was. =)

     
  5. wildwesty

    January 16, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I am also very sentimental… if my school or something else with dear memories got destroyed I’t be heartbreaken (like with JS haha)

     
  6. Jonny Keen

    January 17, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I write because I want to love others.

     
  7. Itiswell

    January 17, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    The main reason I wrote was to alleviate stress and put things in perspective. I also was documenting my education journey and my parents health especially my mothers alzheimers. Those are the entries that I still wish I had. I trusted JS too much to back them up for me. I found out otherwise. Oh well, its too late now. No use crying over spilled milk. I had no idea that I would met a lot of great people, like you, that I would not want to be without. Im not going to JS either. I am done with it. I will just keep my page with a link on it to my journal in case anyone is interested in finding me. However, I have found most my friends through blogspot and facebook.

    How are you doing? Are you feeling okay? Is the baby really kicking? We had a welcome home party for my dad today. My son brought his girlfriend and I thought that she was the greatest. I really liked her very much. She is such a sweetheart. ((((hugs)))

     
  8. Preston Surface

    January 19, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I agree with you about words. You can say what you want, but if you mean it write it down. Somehow the spoken word does not convey the power of the written word – of course the young man’s words of I love you to the sweet maiden would be more effective spoken. The facial expression of the baby eating it’s first dill pickle could replace the written word. The knowing look from your spouse can possibly convey more words than if written. Ok, it is a toss up. There is the written word and then all the other forms of words or wordliness. I don’t know, I’m all confused….

     
  9. backroadrambler

    January 19, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Excellent post. It pretty much expresses my thoughts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
