RSS

Rocks

10 Jan

stackedrocksbw

 This stack of rocks was found on Ruby Beach in 2007 when I was working in Seattle and Portland for two weeks.   I took an excusion on the Olympic Peninsula and spent some time on the coast.   Cairns were not something I knew much about but from time to time on this very rocky beach they would be found such as in this photo.  According to rock-on-rock-on.com, “these offer places and moments for reflection at spiritual-environmental retreats. ”  I find it rather relaxing to gather a bunch of stones and simply stack them while the waves of the mighty sea move in and out with the ocean breeze.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2009 in Black and White, Photography, Washington

 

8 responses to “Rocks

  1. kate

    January 10, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I LOVE this pic! (as well as all the others on this page. I really admire your talent!)

     
  2. Lesley

    January 11, 2009 at 3:21 am

    this is beautiful there is something really peaceful about it

     
  3. Aafke

    January 11, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Oh, I love rock-sacks!!!
    And a beautiful sereene photo!

     
  4. Elin

    January 11, 2009 at 9:11 am

    I love stones, rocks . . .

    We call them ‘varde’, cairns, whatever . . .? I have made many of them back in the mountains in Toscana, I wonder if they are still there? Thanks for sharing, that photo made good memories drift my way 🙂

     
  5. burstmode

    January 11, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I would reflect there…love it.

     
  6. gail

    January 11, 2009 at 11:53 am

    ah, riverstones. well, that’s what i call them…i love to hold them.

     
  7. dkpark

    January 11, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    ok possibly better than the photo of my laundry currently on my blog

     
  8. Kappii

    January 13, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    oh I love this !
    Like riverstones too, I have a few on my coffee table at home (well my dog took them in but they stayed there as decoration in the end !).

     

Leave a Reply

 
