RSS

Deception

03 Jan

treebwemboss7001

It’s all a conspiracy.  Women I meet say “I loved my pregnancy, every bit of it”.  Or they will carry on about how great they felt through the entire 9 month period.  First of all, nine months is too long to be pregnant regardless of how fabulous you felt.  That is almost an entire year and there is way too much in this world to miss out on.  Before you criticize my statement, I do know that the end result is worth every bit of it, but really.  You’d spend MORE time with your child if you were not pregnant for so darn long.  Find me a mother who experienced no side effects of pregnancy:  morning sickness, fatigue, weight gain, cramps, obnoxious cravings, etc etc.  And let us not forget the unforgettable labor.  Now I do believe that there are moms on the planet that have had tolerable labor without the need for drugs, epidurals, blocks, or psychotherapists.   The baby popped right out and life went on. 

This photo was taken this evening on the way home from the pasture along a dirt road that parallels the highway.  It’s much more interesting this way.  I’ve taken photos of this tree in the summer months with the black filter,  however this one is a bit more interesting.   

The day was illegally gorgeous for a January Saturday.  It is the middle of Winter and today’s temperature was 79 degrees.  We did work in the pasture and made the most of every moment outdoors.   Tomorrow it will be 45 as the high and Monday, 38.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Deception

  1. dkpark

    January 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I have not one “maternal” spark in my whole being, have never wanted to be pregnant or even be a Mom. I must admit to really enjoying the “step grand parent” role.

     
  2. wildstorm

    January 3, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I have always felt that way too. Never had that maternal spark either although I was not completely opposed to being a mother. I must admit my husband and I are very excited about this. Fortunately, my pregnancy is going very well. But I cannot ride my horse. =(

     
  3. burstmode

    January 4, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I have noticed a tendency for women to wax nostalgic about pregnancy…but, I am probably a fool for even commenting on this one.

     
  4. lowandslow1

    January 4, 2009 at 8:59 am

    For me, pregnancy was a snap, except the part about listening to her whine and moan. I don’t blame her, though. She had some fine things to say about me, too. Ha! My daughter (#3, Erica) is with child right now, too, and had a rough first trimester. She was sick as a dog. Now she’s past that, but is eating like she’s fixing to hibernate for 6 months. Hope you both have a pleasant time from here on out. 🙂

    S

     
  5. Gillardia

    January 4, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Congratulations! I didn’t know you were expecting.

    Gill

     
  6. wildstorm

    January 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    No one knew. I kept it a secret. Thanks for stopping by!

     
  7. Nancy

    January 4, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Holy Cow! I love this tree photo! As for the pregnancy thing, I remember it as being a lot of joyful anticipation, along with bloating, morning sickness, yada yada. LOL Worth it but there were trying times during the pregnancy and trying times when the little darlins arrived! Glad to have found your blog!

     
  8. Laura

    January 5, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Congratulations and best wishes to you and your husband!

    I wanted to be one of those pregnant women that glows. I wasn’t. And my third and last pregnancy was torture. From the way my bones and joints ached, it felt like the boy was sucking the marrow out of my bones. When he came out weighing 10 pounds, 9 ounces, it appeared I might have been right.

    So. I have no illusions about how pleasant it is to be pregnant. All three times I wanted to back out of it halfway through. But it’s the most rewarding thing I’ve ever done.

     
  9. loupylou

    January 6, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I was horribly sick with all three pregnancies- in fact losing weight for the first 5 mths.. The day before Toni/Periwinkle was born I was on my hands and knees in front of the toilet hollering “ralph” at which time my mom stood shaking her head “you are going to lose that baby”! Last time I mention it as you need encouragement here! Big hugs- I do understand! oh and is sooo worth it!

     
  10. elisac

    January 9, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    That tree is awesome! As for the pregnancy, I cannot comment. God has never blessed me with either husband or child. I am excited for you though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
