RSS

A New Beginning

01 Jan

 A handful of readers of this page are fellow Journalspace bloggers who knew me as Summerwind.  Journalspace was put to rest yesterday when the data on the two drives was unrecoverable.  It was a small operation and one where I first got started blogging.  Really it was Themestream.com where I first got started writing on the web, not so much about personal events but articles and essays.  Themestream also went belly up, but that was more related to money.  I had everything on both blogs saved. 

One of the problems JS’rs are faced with now is that they never backed up their blogs.  That often is a sign that they do not back up data on their computers.   Computers have a life of their own and it is usually a short one.  Software even comes with the computer to do the work yet people do not spend the time to get it set up.  Only once in my entire computer life have I lost information and fortunately it wasn’t much.  It was a major crash and burn of my hard drive probably related to my cat chewing on the keyboard cord (always blame the cat), and I lost data that was only a few days old.  It didn’t hurt too much. 

In graduate school, my back up went as follows for research papers (this was in 2000-2003):  a floppy inserted into the computer and the writing began.  I saved to the hard drive, then to the floppy, and then I emailed a copy to myself on yahoo.   At least if my house burned down I might have the floppy in my possession when I was away and if it was at the house, then it is out there in email land.   I still have all those research papers saved on a CD, on this computer,  and the hard copies are smothered by the student loan bills.   Never mind that.

Probably the worse loss of all at Journalspace was the sense of community there.  I never got real close to many and these latter months, probably since May 2008, I really had no desire to be at the site.  People get really wacky during election years.  But there were a lot of members who utilized JS as a community and unfortunately quite a number where I believe was their only outlet socially. 

Nothing lasts forever and it is events such as this that people grow.  Change is good.  It is hard and we must learn to adapt.  And it is a test of endurance of self.   I have met a number of people through journalspace and many of those I do intend on knowing for a long time.  I met a few in persons as well along my travels across the country.  There is no reason not to carry on those relationships.  Sure, I am sad that the website is gone, but I am not sad at all that many there continue to blog elsewhere sharing their interesting lives and thoughts, dusting off their knees and moving on.  It will be alright.

In the meantime, I continue to blog right here on WordPress where I’ve been for about a year.  My favorite subject continues to be and probably always will be Carter Joe. 

Happy New Year.

cartersnowmar08

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “A New Beginning

  1. Aafke

    January 1, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Happy New Year!
    And Carter Joe is absolutely gorgious!

     
  2. dkpark

    January 1, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Happy New Year! JS ran for as long as it could. I am getting right comfy here at WP and I think all will be just fine

     
  3. kate

    January 1, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I backed some up, but to be honest, it’s not the end of the world if I have lost a few entries from when I was lonely. I miss the stats and the home page, and being able to navigate easily. I like Blogspot but it’s tough to find other interesting journals.
    At any rate, Happy New Year!

     
  4. Arwen

    January 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Hi, “Summerwind”, and thanks for finding me on Blogspot and for commenting there! Glad to find you again and read your journal. Happy New Year to you as well!

     
  5. backroadrambler

    January 2, 2009 at 9:21 am

    This is a really beautiful pic of Carter.

     
  6. Itiswell

    January 4, 2009 at 1:08 am

    You are right. Its time to move on. I love the picture of Carter Joe. My blog site is now at: http://thelighthousekeeper1.blogspot.com/. I like that the best, and I can manage the site a little easier. I found most of my friends scattered between Facebook, WordPress, and blogspot. I have just about found everyone that I have read on a regular basis.

     

Leave a Reply

 
