RSS

Chillicothe, Texas

23 Dec

chillicaothechurch

A policeman followed me as I circled the block several times to get an angle on this church.  My readers might wonder why I did not park the car and walk instead to find just the right angle.  Sometimes I don’t feel like it.  I gave him a business card and link to my rural Texas gallery. 

Chillicothe is on the way to Amarillo.  Or it is on the way to Gainesville depending on how you look at things.  This church located right on the edge of town is First United Methodist Church built in 1916.  It has a historical marker right out front. 

Like most towns along the 287 are along a railroad the first thing you see from a distance driving into town are the grain elevators.   Chillicothe is also known as Iris Village.  For a town of roughly 750, there is an interesting history and if you explore the town there are plenty of interesting things to photograph.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2008 in Churches, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Chillicothe, Texas

  1. Aafke

    December 23, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Of course you couldn’t get out: Then it wouldn’t be ”Driverside Window Photography”!!!!! 😀
    Nice church.

     
  2. wildstorm

    December 23, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    You are right!

     
  3. lowandslow1

    December 24, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Except for the stained glass, it could almost pass as the county courthouse, too. Either way it’s a lovely old building. And I enjoy lovely old buildings. 🙂

    Merry Christmas

    S

     
  4. Bruce Derr

    January 15, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    It was the church my father grew up in and I spent every Easter in, It is a beautiful building with an amazing organ, the pipes go all the way across behind the pulpit and choir. My grandfather met my grandmother there and it was the last building they were both in before going to their grave. Chillicothe was a wonderful town to spend ones summers in although hot as blazes in July, although my grandparents (my dad and uncle really) ran the community pool. Another of those old cotton/oil towns dying a slow death.

     
  5. wildstorm

    January 15, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your memory of Chillicothe. I have not been through the town in quite a few years. But I do remember seeing and admiring that church each time I stopped in the area for a break driving home from Amarillo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
