RSS

Harrold, Texas

22 Dec

The very fact that Harrold Texas makes big news in small town America is the latest Associated Press article in August 2008, “North Texas school district will let teachers carry guns”.   Do you even know where Harrold Texas is?   Get out your map or google map, and find Harrold along the 287 and 240 about 150 miles northwest of Fort Worth.   

It is Fort Worth and Dallas school districts that should be allowing teachers to carry guns in addition to the smaller rural areas.  This entry is not about gun laws in Texas.   Harrold is another little town along a railroad and was once named Cottonwood.  There are about 350 people living there making for a pretty small school district.  The architecture is quite nice though and as in most small towns across this vast state, the centerpoint of town is often the high school and their football team. 

33harroldhigh

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Harrold, Texas

  1. lowandslow1

    December 22, 2008 at 7:07 am

    I’ve never been to Harrold, TX, but I heard about their school policy. Harrold said they were a good half hour away from getting law enforcement help in an emergency, therefore they thought it prudent for them to be able to react themselves until help arrived. Makes good sense to me. And I agree, where they need trained teachers with guns is in the DISD.

    Merry Christmas… 🙂

    S

     
  2. Wes

    December 22, 2008 at 11:05 am

    This is the greatest idea since Spam

     
  3. burstmode

    December 22, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I think it might keep a little civility in school.

     
  4. likeisaid2

    December 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I think it’s a great idea. Love this photo. I’ve seen a lot of small Texas towns but not this one! I’d love to travel the backroads and take photos. 🙂

     
  5. Doanli

    December 22, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I completely agree with their decision.

     
  6. Linda

    December 23, 2008 at 2:20 am

    I dont understand why teachers in a small school need to carry weapons to class. I think there is a better way. I hope you guys are doing well. I miss you. (((hugs)))

     
  7. Larry

    December 23, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Well the students have carried guns for years in Texas and Yes I know where Harrold is.

     
  8. wildstorm

    December 23, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Linda, the town of Harrold is far enough away from law enforcement that the teachers pack weapons to protect their students. Small towns are not exempt from the wacky crime sprees we often see in the urban areas. Meth is a real problem way out in the boonies and with meth comes crime.

     
  9. Linda

    December 30, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I understand but cant the school afford security guards?

     
  10. Bob Richie

    November 20, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    Yes I know where Harrold, Texas is………… I was born there, May 1935 and graduated form HHS in 1953 a class of 13………….largest in years. GREAT school I say. Please do not ask me about
    armed teachers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
