RSS

Slaton, Texas

15 Nov

This is the worst time of year in the Texas Panhandle.  Cotton gin season begins right now in November, and continues into January. Cotton gin dust drives me crazy.   I am allergic to nothing.  Even in the Springtime in the most pollenous areas, in fields of bluebonnets and wildflowers, nothing bothers me.  But this time of year in Lubbock I become very uncomfortable.  It’s just not right.  But I will add that aside from this, I do love to watch the harvesting of cotton.  Driving far into the patchwork landscape of the Llano Estacado, I find it so relaxing to loose myself on the narrow farm roads stretching endlessly into the fields of fibers spun into the fabric of America.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
