RSS

The State Theater

10 Aug

Every town’s got one.  And every movie theater has a story to tell.  When I pass an old theater like this one, it brings back so many memories of the many motion pictures I watched as a kid in Hobbs, NM.  Was it the Frontier?  I cannot recall.  My mom dropped us off there often usually with my best friend in this one screen theater.  

The State Theater is located downtown on the town square on California Street in historic Gainesville, Texas. Many times we have passed this not really giving thought to its story and what it’s being used for today. It looks as though it is being cared for but there is much more information if you click for the History of this old movie theater.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 10, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “The State Theater

  1. itiswell

    August 10, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    We have a theater that has been around forever it seems. I still love going there to watch a film. In fact, on Monday, I am going to go there to see the x-files movie. I hope you have a good work week. Come by and see me sometime. (((hugs)))

     

Leave a Reply

 
