RSS

Traveler’s Rest, South Carolina

02 Aug

LittleTXSC

Outside of Greenville, SC is Traveler’s Rest known for it’s history as a stop-over for weary travelers.  I wasn’t weary really but was simply driving without a map from my hotel in Greenville to see where the road went.  I don’t like too much to be in this part of the country without a map because roads zigzag all over the place going in multiple directions curving here and turning there.  When you thought you were driving northbound, you discover you have been driving southeast for an hour.  Carry a compass.  As long as you know which way is North you will be fine. 

In 2006, while making this interesting drive after work, I stumbled upon this little store.  In another blog, a visitor signed that entry claiming to be the granddaughter of the woman who ran the store.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2008 in Photography, South Carolina, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Traveler’s Rest, South Carolina

  1. Wizardress

    August 2, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Wayyy I can’t see the photo, and yes I do want to go shopping! 🙂

     
  2. FeynmanFan

    August 2, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    I guess I’ll have an RC Cola and a moon pie…

     
  3. doanli

    August 2, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Give me an RC Cola too…that was my fave.

    I just got back from Greenville!!!!

     
  4. maikulian

    August 3, 2008 at 7:42 am

    I just love your blog and the photos! Such a good atmosphere. Have started to dream again of driving thu rural America cause of these pics.

    I also have a quite new travel photo blog if you want to have a look: maikulian.wordpress.com. All comments welcome!

     
  5. Anna Surface

    August 3, 2008 at 8:41 am

    I really like this shot. An out-of-the way and kind of old-time store. Really nice. 🙂

     
  6. Elegies

    August 3, 2008 at 10:21 am

    It’s making me hungry.

     
  7. joan

    August 9, 2008 at 10:53 am

    What a little sweetie.

     

Leave a Reply

 
