RSS

Dragonfly

01 Jul

Situated on the tripod, my Nikon aims toward a stick leaning toward the other side of the pond while the cat tails stand over it watching ripples on the water. Once a dragonfly lands and remains there for any length of time, it will return as will others. I must be ready, constantly watching. That is my strategy on capturing one digitally.

The humid air invites mosquitoes to the alter of human skin and a choir of birds from black jack oak tree sing evening songs. A frog croaks from somewhere along the waters edge but I cannot see it. Mickey Dog sniffs the path around the pond and I await for his full circle to my side where he will wait and possibly wade into the mucky water.

Dragonflies. Constant movement. But for a few seconds, one stops by for a pose.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2008 in Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Dragonfly

  1. Anna Surface

    July 1, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Awesome capture! And what a dragonfly! I love its markings and buggy eyes. Patience, indeed. This is really an excellent photo! I’m impressed. 🙂

     
  2. Aafke

    July 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Wauw!!!!!
    I have tried forever to capture a dragonfly and never succeeded!!!!

    Gorgeous photo!
    You are so versatile!

    Sorry for all the exclamation marks.

     
  3. wildstorm

    July 1, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    It wasn’t easy. I was at the pond for half an hour before I discovered the behavior of these dragon flies and their stops on this stick. And then I must have shot 20 pictures and have five that are acceptable. Thank you both for your kind comments.

     
  4. BakerWatson

    July 1, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Beautiful capture.

    You are right about watching their behavior. I have recently been taking some pictures of dragonflies and damselflies and began watching their habits to improve my chances of getting good shots. (Not professional shots at all as I have only a run-of-the-mill point and shoot camera.)

    It seems that the various species have there own way of doing things. Certain ones tend to always perch facing outward toward the water while others face inward or in different directions depending on how they land. Some will alight close to shore (or one land) while others tend to pick perches further away. And they have different preferences as to sunlight it seems. My dragonflies love the bright sun while the damselflies are more often found in areas dappled with sun or where there is a good bit of green vegetation. It seems most of the damselflies I see over the water are there to lay eggs.

    Aafke – If you are ever around a pond or lake with dragonflies try providing a few sticks at the edge of the water for them to perch on. Then maybe they will come to you and you can get a good shot.

     
  5. Morphine

    July 1, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Wow. I love this one. That is an amazing capture. Even though I personally find dragonflies to be ugly, even this makes them beautiful.

     
  6. itiswell

    July 2, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    I love this! Reading this post made me remember my grandparents farms and the time we spent watching God’s creatures around the pond and fishing for catfish. Thanks for the memory.

     
  7. Rocknrollin

    July 2, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    VERY cool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
