RSS

Capps Corner, Texas

01 Jun

When asked how I spent my weekend with my gorgeous husband, I eagerly told my inquirer about my day in rural America at Capps Corner Texas.  If you google Capps Corner, you won’t find much.   There’s not even a “Singles” website for Capps Corner.  Every town needs one of those.  About all you will find is a few homes and less than a hundred people.  The school is gone, the store and the gas station.  At least I don’t recall seeing a gas station.   If you need anything, you simply run down to St. Jo. 

The area however from St. Jo to Illinois Bend and back across 373 to Muenster is quite scenic and really a very pleasant drive.  Just a few miles South of the Red River/Oklahoma border, much of this area is ranching and some farming. 

And what you will find in Capps Corner in a field just short of the junction of FM 1956 and FM 677 is this bull.  A “No Trespassing” sign is really not necessary when you’ve got a long horn like this boy grazing nearby the fenceline.  

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Capps Corner, Texas

  1. Catigula

    June 1, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    That’s a GREAT longhorn photo! Capps Corner is not that far away from DFW, is it?

     
  2. wildstorm

    June 1, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    About 2 hours considering stop lights, mild traffic and such is what would take to drive to CC from DFW.

     
  3. Anna Surface

    June 3, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Wow! What a longhorn! Great shot! 🙂

     
  4. lovezao

    June 5, 2008 at 6:28 am

    I do remember Capps Corner.

    This photo made me want to read Lonesome Dove again.

     
  5. Doug

    November 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    I found Capps Corner this weekend on my motorcycle escape from DFW. About a mile out of St. Joseph on my way to Capps I found myself on top of a rise – the view just blew me away. Pastures of green grass with tree lines winding through. I have never scene a view close to this anywhere else in Texas. I can’t wait for my next trip to Capps Corner.

     
  6. Calvin

    February 23, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    I grew up there; went to school there, and my step grandmother owned and ran the store until she was nearly 90 years old. My great and great great grandparents found the area in the 1870-80’s and it has always been the “best kept secret in North Texas” as far as those who live there are concerned. Please don’t tell everyone…we enjoy the quiet and the beautiful night sky.

     
  7. wildstorm

    March 3, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    Thank you, Calvin. I take a drive every once in a while and find myself in that area and really enjoy the peacefulness of it all. I can understand why you want to protect that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
