RSS

Peacock, Texas

10 May

The morning was early when I left Lubbock to Grayson County.  Early is important in order to hit as many off-the-beaten path towns, ghost towns, and cemetaries.   On rare occasions I take an atlas.  I had been on every single major route to Lubbock and back thus it was time to fine another way. 

Peacock is along Farm Road 2211 off Hwy 380 in Stonewall County.  The 380 is an interesting drive by itself.  But take a few small roads and the stories blur.  Who named Peacock?  Was it a family name since there are Peacock families in the area?  There are probably less then a hundred people here. 

I drove through town and on the few residential streets taking some photographs and notes.  A man and his wife in their senior years came out on the front porch and stood there with their coffee looking at me as I sat across the street takin some shots.  I waved.  They waved back.  Perhaps they are accustomed to people like me, photographers and notetakers collecting a splinter of their town’s life for a blog that only those who Google Peacock will find. 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Peacock, Texas

  1. ZaXXy

    May 10, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    nya? i’d type up a storm but too sreepy *yawnz* gomen gomen

     
  2. Aafke

    May 11, 2008 at 3:20 am

    Wauw! You’re black! And I’ve justed turned white!
    Great photo! I love the juxtaposition of the old shed and the pristine white house!
    Your photo collection reminds me of Walker Evans in that I am sure future generations will cherish these images of real life.

     
  3. ZaXXy

    May 11, 2008 at 7:30 am

    amazing ain’t it that nowadays everything is googly related? lol nevermind Microsoft.. Google is trying to take over the world (said in that Brain mousey voice) rofl

     
  4. ZaXXy

    May 11, 2008 at 7:37 am

    as you can tell leaving comments on press isn’t my forte lol oh wells… one day i’ll either go to sleep forever or wake up a lot more *yawnz*

     
  5. Anna Surface

    May 12, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Peacock, Texas and your experience reminds me of the photo shoots Preston and I have at small, out-of-the-way towns. Some people slow down in their cars and others come out of their houses. When they ask questions, we tell them what we’re up to and give them a card for our photoblog. We’ve met some really wonderful people on our photo jaunts.

    I really like this shot with the old gas station and that bright Conoco sign.

    I also really like the change of theme here. Looks very nice and shows off your photos. 🙂

     
  6. BenB

    May 14, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I’ll bet that old Conoco sign would be worth a small mint to a collector!

     

Leave a Reply

 
