RSS

Rule, Texas

29 Mar

Most towns are named after some guy who walked upon a piece of property, dug the heel of his boot in the ground dragging into the shape of an X and declared that area his.  With an pocket full of cash and some investors he points toward the site of the post office while chewing on his toothpick squinting across the vast openess. A gust of wind blows his hat off onto a patch of dirt where he builds his home.

If you want the real story of how Rule, Texas came about CLICK HERE. There are quite a few photos in my collection that I have taken on my travels through Rule. I was lucky one day to capture this photo of the mural without a bunch of cars parked in front of it. Fortunately, that old black truck fits just fine. And if you look hard enough while passing through town, you can find a treasure of history there and some pretty interesting stories.

rulemural500.jpg  

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Rule, Texas

  1. Wes

    March 29, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Have you seen the mural painted on the old theatre on 6th Street in Amarillo, old Route 66?

     
  2. wildstorm

    March 29, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I have seen the mural in Amarillo but do not have a photo of it.

     
  3. MrScribbler

    March 29, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I guess if I could, I’d start a town down the road called “Exception.”

    Every Rule should have an Exception.

     
  4. wildstorm

    March 29, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Very good idea. Can I be the town mayor?

     
  5. Betty

    March 29, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I just looked at the site you posted for Rule, Tx. I don’t remember ever going through it but Paul thinks he has. Oh how I would love just traveling around visiting places like this. 🙂

     
  6. joan

    March 30, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Cool mural!

     
  7. Paula

    March 30, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I posted the truth.

     
  8. itiswell

    April 4, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I love the mural. So cool.

     
  9. elisac

    April 4, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I love the mural. It certainly captures small town Texas.

     
  10. lml

    August 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I grew up here in this town but moved off 4 years ago to go to college…it’s neat to see other’s perspective of something I saw for 18 years of my life. To me, it was just a four way stop sign in the middle of our ‘drag’, to you its something to pause, take a picture of, research its history, and even blog about it

     

Leave a Reply

 
