RSS

Brownfield, Texas

06 Feb

If the man I married lived in Brownfield, Texas, I would be writing this post from that rural agricultural community of 9500.  I’ve spent a lot of time in Brownfield, Seagraves, Gomez, and Seminole.  How I love Seminole.  But this is about Brownfield where some of the best tornado photographs can be made.  Wild, threatening storms looming over the South Plains while families grab up all that they have and run for shelter.  The rest of the year is quite pleasant and the open countryside is a relief to the swarming metropolitan areas.   From the air, it appears to be a patchwork quilt with squares and circles of farming and oil fields.

This photo I took a year or two ago on the way home from work in Roswell, NM.  I loved that assignment more than any other.  Running late as usual to catch my flight in Lubbock, I caught this beauty of sunset with one of my favorite subjects:  the center pivot. 

irrigationsunsetbrownsfield500.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2008 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Brownfield, Texas

  1. benny thomas

    February 6, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Beautiful sunset. I do not know why Nature throws all her colors into the dying of a day. Well captured.
    benny

     
  2. billy ray

    February 6, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    You have an exceptional talent with your camera. Thank you for sharing…and lets ride some time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
