RSS

Niantic, Illinois

05 Feb

There’s not much information on the web about the small farming community of Niantic, Illinois. My family can probably tell me more. Niantic is a township in Macon County of just over 700 residents. It celebrated it’s sesquicentennial of it’s founding in July of 2004. “Beyond Prairie City” a book published by Thelma Ball, is a history of Niantic, Illinois.

On the way to Abe Lincoln’s house last summer, we stopped here and cruised the streets with the windows down and shutter clicking. Such a quiet cozy little town I am convinced this would be the perfect place sit on the front porch sipping a glass of sweet tea watching fire flies invite the stars to compete in the evening sky.

niantic500.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2008 in Illinois, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Niantic, Illinois

  1. Thelma L Ball

    October 4, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Hi, I’m Thelma! How did you discover my book?
    Thelma Ball

     
  2. wildstorm

    October 4, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Thelma, I have family in Harristown. I believe my grandmother, maybe my aunt, told me about a book that had read. I googled it. Thank you so much for visiting my page. My daddy grew up in Harristown and went to the school in Niantic.

     
  3. nancy

    December 5, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    My great, great grandfather was Jordan(or Jerdan) Warren Berkey (now spelled Burkey). In the history of his family, supposedly he went to BERKEY school near Niantic, Ill. He did plat the town of Harristown as he owned some land along the railroad. Thanks for the grain elevator picture.

     
  4. Lynn Beebe

    January 12, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    I’m from Niantic CT….was this Niantic named by someone from CT?

     
  5. William D. Livergood

    April 5, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    My father, Ober Livergood, Jr., graduated from Niantic HS in 1935. I was just looking at a book called Place Names of Illinois, by Edward Callary (Urbana-Champaign: U of I Press, 2009). A very long sample of this book is available online, with the preview ending on P. 262, but with Niantic information on p. 249. Long-time residents may have different stories about this, but:

    “Niantic, the name of a New England Algonquian tribe, was proposed by settlers from Niantic, New London County, Conn., and was in general use as the name of the village, post office and railway station by the late 1850s.”

     
  6. Will

    February 13, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    I live in Niantic across from the HS. It is a great place.

     
  7. Thelma Ball

    April 1, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    Update: The old Niantic elevator was leveled when taken over by Archer’s Daniel Midland ADM company. Cherish your photo!

    Naming Niantic…Niantic started out as Prairie City, Lockhart and Niantic were other names voted upon to make it official. As far as legend has it…people traveling through the village going west were from the Niantic, CT area and that was how it came to be nominated for the vote.

    Local History books available:
    Beyond Prairie City
    Lincoln’s Soldiers Marched: From Niantic IL
    Lincoln’s Soldiers Marched: From Harristown IL
    Lincoln’s Soldiers Marched: From White Hall IL
    ballthelma@gmail.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
