RSS

Era, Texas

22 Jan

Southwest of Gainesville, Texas, the Cooke county seat, at the junction of the 51 and the 922 is a town of about 200 residents.  There might be more dogs, but who takes census on family pets and strays.  My family’s neighbor has more dogs than there are people in Woodbine.  

Era, Texas is an unincorporated town and one appearing very neat and tidy to one passing through.  I actually stopped in town for a tour last year on my way to the Panhandle.  It was named after Era Hargrave, the daughter of an early settler (Gainesville Daily Register, August 30, 1948).   

 And if you must know, the elevation of Era is 900′.  

The photo is of the Era United Methodist Church. 

eraumcsepia500.jpg

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 22, 2008 in Black and White, Churches, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Era, Texas

  1. Sandy

    January 22, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    You stopped by my blog today so I thought I would return the favor, and boy am I glad I did!!! What gorgeous and moving photos! I love to “see” what others see! Thank you for sharing your gift! I will be checking back often and sharing it with a few others!
    Sandy
    (spottedhorsechick)

     

Leave a Reply

 
