RSS

Decatur, Texas

23 Dec

More than half of the photos I post on this blog are taken from my car window.  In fact, I’ve had trouble naming my blog because of that and have been looking for a blog name reflecting this “style” of photographing along the road.   Some are even taken through the windowshield, providing it is clean enough and if not, I wildly create something effective. 

While driving to Lubbock TX, I took the wrong offramp and figured if I drove Westbound far enough I’d end up in the Panhandle.   And here I find Decatur, Texas.  I don’t have a Garmin or a map.  Who needs maps?  Look what you find without a map!

The clock tower below is of the Decatur Courthouse in Decatur, Texas, the county seat of Wise County.   There is quite an intersting story behind the history of this courthouse and others.   Decatur History

clocktwr700.jpg

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2007 in Black and White, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Decatur, Texas

  1. Franco

    December 23, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    a beautiful building!! whats the name of the building?
    It looks so old!!

    I wish I could do just that… go around without a map or garmin… very adventurous…

    great shot!!

     
  2. wildstorm

    December 23, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    Franco, I edited my post and included the name of the structure.

     
  3. burstmode

    December 23, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    I love the county courthouses in Texas…this one is spectacular. I love the clockface in this photo.

     
  4. wildstorm

    December 23, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks bursty, and you know what time it was I was in town!

     
  5. Falcon

    December 23, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    wow… really nice… i love it…

     
  6. itiswell

    December 24, 2007 at 12:13 am

    I love it. So beautiful!

     
  7. Franco

    December 25, 2007 at 10:48 am

    that is awesome!! the name fits the title!! and thanks for the history too!!

    ~streetfotografy.wordpress.com~

     
  8. tr

    December 28, 2007 at 5:11 am

    ohman..i think my grt-grampa went through there.

     
  9. K

    April 21, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Come see our courthouse and eat and shop on the surrounding square in Decatur TX,in north central Texas. Call ahead and schedule a tour of the tower with our judge(no joke). Dances,car shows and movies are scheduled throughout the summer months.

     

Leave a Reply

 
