RSS

Bledsoe, Texas

23 Dec

Growing up in Hobbs NM, frequent trips were made throughout the Permian Basin and the Texas Panhandle.   Just East of the state line on highway 380 is a sign pointing to Bledsoe.  I don’t remember much of it as a child but it has always called to me. 

Last year while working the New Mexico region where driving everywhere is a must, I took a more scenic route from Lubbock to Roswell and drove to Bledsoe.  My mind was flooded with memories of these wide open pastures spotted with oil rigs and cattle herds. 

Like most small towns, there’s not much in Bledsoe.  But each little town has it’s own center, a landmark, a heartbeat.  This is what I found. 

bledsoemanipcolbw800.jpg

Photo taken with a Kodak D4900 long before the Nikon D50. 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2007 in Black and White, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Bledsoe, Texas

  1. Franco

    December 23, 2007 at 1:20 am

    Awesome manipulation of color… amazing

    ~photoreflection.wordpress.com~

     
  2. juni

    December 23, 2007 at 3:52 am

    i like this one. it’s more you. the most goodstuff toya n’ godbless.

     
  3. burstmode

    December 23, 2007 at 8:08 am

    surreal…like a vivid dream.

     
  4. kopain

    December 24, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Beautiful photo. I recently joined WordPress. I ned to find all the people that I already know.

     
  5. Anneal

    December 26, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Now you got My attention girl!
    Santa Fe tried to merge with the Southern Pacific in the 60’s. The government stopped it…BUT…they started to paint both railroads with an experimental scheme titled: (get this..you’ll love it) The “Kodachrome” scheme. It is rare to see it on cars these days. Thought I’d share that with ya.
    A

     
  6. Jim Foreman

    October 19, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Great photo! Old building, ghost and nearly ghost towns is one of my favorite subjects.

    Jim Foreman
    http://www.jimforeman.com

     
  7. Jim Foreman

    October 19, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hi Wildstorm, I’d like to visit with you if you’d care to drop me a line. I grew up in the Panhandle and have a number of stories about my youth.

    jimfore@cox.net

     
  8. Cory Gober

    June 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    That’s the depot. I used to go there every afternoon to get a coke and candy bar if mom would have it. My friends and I would ride our huffy dirt bikes there and park outside and go in to see Mrs. Gandy who ran the store. Man I miss that place. There’s not much there anymore and I haven’t been back since I left at 16. But for years and years it was home. Our graduating class of sixth grade had 6 people in it. I have been in the Army since 2002 and I have always wanted to go back, but I am afraid to tarnish those old fond memories I have of it when people still lived there. I have plenty of stories about the old grain elevator located on the north side of town. Many adventures there as a kid. Thanks for taking that shot, brings back good memories for me, a long way away from home.

     
  9. Kaitlin Gandy

    November 2, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Yeah, this is my hometown too. I only moved away at 18 in 2007, but my parents and siblings, grandma, and aunt & uncle still live there. And yes…there is nothing there. And actually, the depot just reopened (my mother is the editor of the Morton Tribune), and Mrs. Gandy (although I don’t remember her every running it) would be my grandma or mother (I’m not sure who Cory was talking about). Mr and Mrs. Raymond Lewis were the owners. Raymond passed away earlier this year of lung cancer. But Bledsoe is still there. The school is also really cool. I was the last generation of kids to ever attend school there before it consolidated with the Whiteface school district.

    Thanks for the picture. When I was born, they put “There’s a Dandy Gandy Girl!” up there on the letter board. 🙂

     
  10. wildstorm

    November 2, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Thank you so much Kaitland for leaving this comment on this entry about Bledsoe. I am from Hobbs NM and collect history from that area. I appreciate what you have shared here. Even though there is “nothing there”, there are tons of stories, memories. Excellent. Anything else you wish to share about Bledsoe, you are more than welcome to.

    Anita

     
  11. Lewis Mowery

    September 3, 2010 at 2:18 am

    I taught Social Studies, Typing, and an adult nightschool class at Bledsoe. I went there in September, 1972, and moved in July, 1974. Most of the people of Bledsoe were very kind to my family. My daughter, Galaine, started school there. The Superintendent was Don M. Weaver, and in the superintendent’s office were old photographs of Bledsoe. I hope they are displayed somewhere so the public can see them. It is nice to see comments from the Gober family and the Gandy family. Dwight Gober was on the school board, and June Gandy was the 5th grade teacher.

     
  12. Lewis Mowery

    September 3, 2010 at 2:22 am

    I taught school at Bledsoe from 1972-1974. My daughter started school there in the first grade.
    I taught Junior High and High School Social Studies. I also taught Typing, and a night course for adults in Bookkeeping.
    Bledsoe was a great place for me to begin my 30-year career in education.
    We lived in a teacherage the first year I taught there.

     
  13. David Galliher

    June 21, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Hi,
    I bought a piece of land south of Bledsoe a couple of years ago. I have never been there, afraid of what I might find. It came up on the Internet and having a piece of Texas land is my dream although I am 73 I have never owned land. Land is Texas biggest resource. There is so much of it and there are some very desolate places but to get something cheap you have to buy a huge number of acres. So when this 1.1 acre tract came up on EBay I couldn’t help myself. IN the neighborhood of $400 but I can/t remember exactly. They gave me the deed and I have been paying taxes for it seems like more than 2 years now. Anyway I can’t even afford to go there because living on SS doesn’t leave me much in the way of a travel budget. And besides that looking at the site on Google Earth and MSN. i can’t be sure I am seeing roads. It might just be fenceline. I called the sheriff’s office they told me I would need Sand Tires at the very least. So what I thought I might do is try to find someone with a dirt bike or 4 wheel drive vehicle to go and look at it for me. I could pay $50 – $100 for pictures and details on what it takes to get to the site. I have an old RV that runs but hasn’t been licensed for a couple of years. If I knew I could get to the property I would go there. If there is a wrecker service in Bledsoe maybe I could pay them to pull my RV over there. At least I would be on my own property. The RV is in reasonable shape I think to allow me to enjoy a vacation away from it all. I have enough Battery power tools, I think I can haul enough lumber and materials inside and on top of the RV to make a Cabin Shell, at least that. I just don’t want to hear it would be impossible. I would like to be able to improve this piece of property with my own labor, so that the next person who owns it gets a better deal than I did. At least that. I have talked to the land office a couple of times they are friendly, they say there is a commissioner who is in charge of that area. He doesn’t return my calls.
    I get the feeling that they subdivided this property to get some taxes from it. The Google Pictures are interesting because they look like there is a trail / track that goes right by my property. I tried contacting the employment offfice to see if I could hire someone through them to go to the property. I bought a cheap GPS and I have the GPS locations of the four corners of the property and I worked out the position of the exact middle of the property. There are some distinctive landmarks so I worked out a way to tie a string to a landmark walk straight east put in a stake and then walk straight north and be right in the middle of the property. My idea now is to call a wrecker service in the area and ask them if they can drive in there and then tell me what it takes to get in there and out. So that is what I am planning to do now. Hope it works.
    Thanks,
    David G.
    Lewisville, TX

     
  14. backroadrambler

    June 21, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I love that picture and the way you used the color.

     
  15. tcbntx

    June 22, 2011 at 8:00 am

    i like this Anita

     

Leave a Reply

 
