RSS

Oak Glen, CA

15 Jan

Image

This is an old picture.  I’m guessing it was taken in 1999.  This was a Civil War reenactment in Oak Glen, California, the first I had ever attended.  I’d go again if the opportunity presented itself.  I shot it with a Minolta X370 50 mm lens, 200 ISO Kodachrome film.

Not much has changed over the years, friends tell me.  There remains the working apple orchard. Visitors can buy apples, make apple cider, enjoy everything apple.  It also has a variety of activities such as the Colonial Chesterfield  Civil War program, a packing shed operation, Riley’s Log Cabin Farm and Frontier Events.

Frequently these days I have considered returning to Southern California. I’ve had no desire in the past ten years although I have been back a number of times over a year while working for a company that subjected me to the Orange County freeway system.  The time of year matters for there are many things to do year round, I don’t want to miss the apple festival in Oak Glen or the way the sun dips below the San Jacinto mountains while golfing in the desert.  Palm Springs is so hot in the summer.

Yes, I think I will start planning.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Oak Glen, CA

  1. Pradeep Pendyala

    May 3, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    who doesn’t like apple cider…??

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

