RSS

Dexter, Texas

08 Jan

Image

If it weren’t for this church and a stop sign at the 678 and the 106 I’d never know I was in Dexter.  Are there even a hundred people there?  Ranches are scattered throughout the region just south of the Red River.  According to historical data, Dexter was named after a race horse.  Not surprising really since one will pass many horse ranches to get to Dexter regardless of what route taken.  Let me not forget to mention the cemeteries, two I believe dating back to the beginning of Dexter’s history.  Many of the original business including a hotel and barber shop have since decayed and been carried off in memory.  But the church remains and fortunately is still in use.  As it should be.

Church.

Go to church!

I want to know about this race horse named Dexter.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dexter, Texas

  1. Nancy

    January 8, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    Dexter must have been quite a horse to have a town named after him! I love the church picture. It just recalls simpler times, plus I like older architecture better.

     
  2. Ricky

    April 11, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    When I was a kid my grandfather took me there and I remember the old saloon leaning in better years. He told me the story of his daddy working at the stables as a kid and that the James gang came thru and gave him a double eagle for taking care of their horses. Man, that was a lot of money then. I still choose to remember those days, days when people cared for one another and always offered a bite to eat or soda to whoever wondered by. Really blessed I lived thru the ending of what was left of the southern west. I was raised in that part of Texas and am so very thankfull.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

